We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Meal That Almost Wasn't...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Chicago

Old Chicago
327 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2305
218-720-2966
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 200 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Good Meal That Almost Wasn't...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My family and I decided to have some pizza from Old Chicago instead of eating at a fast food restaurant. There was only 2 people ahead of us when we came in and so we thought that seating was going to be fairly quick. After talking to the hostess we found that it was going to be at least 20 minutes until we were seated. When I told the hostess that we had decided to find somewhere else, the manager stepped up and said that they would find us a table. I would estimate that they were at around 75% of capacity. They seated us at a clean table within just a couple minutes. It took about 15 -20 minutes for our food to arrive, but it was worth the wait! Everyone's food was extremely tasty with good portions. The atmosphere was a little loud and was more sports bar than restaurant, but we all enjoyed the experience. Our waitress was very professional, attentive and kind. I know we will go back again since it was a delightful change.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    57
    16
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atwater
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wait. But worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It seems that every Red Lobster I have enjoyed, there is always a 40 minute wait. In this situation, it was well worth the wait. The Shrimp sampler is everything a Shrimp eater could possibly want.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pretty good, not chicago pizza though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The food was pretty good but it's not Chicago pizza. Staff is nice and the bar area offers plenty of draft beers to choose from. Go during Happy Hour for some great deals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
365 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
“Good mac and cheese; decent pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ate lunch recently at this particular Old Chicago. It was the first time any of us had eaten at an Old Chicago restaurant. I believe it's a chain; but they don't have any near where we live. I had never even heard of it before.

We stopped in around eleven on a Thursday in July, and the place was deserted except for a group of guys sitting at the bar. We were seated in the dining area upstairs (the bar is at street level). The waitress was very prompt, and friendly.

I ordered the macaroni and cheese dish; the rest of the family ordered a large deep dish pizza to share. My meal was good. The macaroni on the top as well as the bread crumbs were a bit overcooked, but it still tasted fine. I tried a bit of the pizza; it was okay. After all, it's pretty hard to mess up pizza. I did think their large size was a bit small compared to other pizza places. The large was cut into eight slices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I've eaten at Old Chicago in other cities and expected the usual chain stuff. I was pleasantly surprised by the great service , the tangy sauce, and the amount of toppings on the Meat Me specialty pizza. I didn't feel like drinking beer at the time and ordered unsweetened iced tea,...it tasted like fresh brewed quality tea, not at all like the fake bland stuff you usually get. I also like spicy Italian sausage and theirs was great.

This place changed my perception of national chains being plain and bland. The price was right ,too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Old Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.