We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Cute !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Scenic Cafe

New Scenic Cafe
5461 N Shore Dr, Duluth, MN 55804-2918
218-525-6274
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 225 restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Eagan, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and Cute !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were on our way to Grand Marais and stopped here for lunch. My friend had crab cakes and I had the pistachio crusted goat cheese salad. Beautiful food and wonderful, different choices, The grounds are very beautiful with flowers Ive never seen before. Get a spot near the window....try something different. A Must stop! Prices are a little higher but worth it as portions are generous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    254
    66
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Always gotta go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Anytime we're on a North Shore trip be it for a day or an overnighter or a weekend we always make time to stop in here for lunch or dinner. We've eaten here four or five times in the last couple years. The food is consistently outstanding. The staff is super helpful. And there's always something new to try. Never had anything but a wonderful time every time. Prepare to be delighted and surprised. This is some great food done excellently well. On the weekends during the summer you might have to wait a bit for a table, but it's well worth it. And everybody is there for the same reason - to have a great dining experience whether it be for lunch or dinner. And the view? Wow! The lake never looked better. The outside patio is superb seating. Trust me, you'll love it and keep coming back just like we do whether we're on our way up the shore or on our way back. Always gotta go here or the trip just isn't complete.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This restaurant was everything I expected. I did have to wait (at 2:30pm), but only about 15 minutes. High-class menu at reasonable prices. Outstanding food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasteful & Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Wanted some place special for our anniversary. We found it here for sure. Just up the north shore from Duluth...what a find. Food you won't find anywhere near here...and very good. Super service and attitude...tasty...surprizingly affordable for the classy fare here. We will return many times...you should too. P.S. Cool web site with employee profiles. Go...Eat...Here!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tower, Minnesota
1 review
“Way over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very over-rated restaurant. Pretentious presentation without the quality. Was very disappointed after hearing this was 'the' restaurant to visit on the North Shore. You don't find this much pretentiousness at Minneapolis restaurants, where they actually have the substance to back up such an attitude. Ridiculous 'food smear' entre (to quote my dining partners), ludicrously miniscule portions. For the $36 entre price it should be a somewhat reasonable portion. I'm a very light eater, and much prefer quality to quantity, but it was hard to believe they considered what I received on my plate to be even close to a 'portion'. Entre had no sides or extras to pick up the slack. Was very much hoping for a lovely dining experience, but was beyond disappointed, as were my companions. Maybe others who gave favorable ratings, equate miniscule portions, a food smear and pretentiousness to be a sign of fine dining. The current dining trend has certainly long since moved from the 'Haute smear' to familiarity, hominess, and accessibly affordable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Scenic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to New Scenic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Scenic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.