We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Scenic Cafe

New Scenic Cafe
5461 N Shore Dr, Duluth, MN 55804-2918
218-525-6274
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 228 restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped in on Labor Day for a late lunch about 2 pm and the hostess said it would be a 30 min wait. As it turned out we only had to wait about 5-10 and were called for a table. We had a very nice fig appetizer. It changed my opinion of figs! I had the special which was a herring sandwich and my wife had a duck appetizer as her main course. Both were excellent. The waitress was attentive, but the service out of the kitchen seemed slow. Would certainly go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    262
    70
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food on the North Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This restaurant has been around for many years and everytime we go we rave about it again and again! The food is imaginative and fit for foodies but also has sandwiches for the kids. It is right off old Hwy 61 and the lake can be seen from the parking lot and some of table if you get a window in the part of the restaurant closest to the parking lot. Don't worry about the view--the are so many scenic overlooks on the way north from Duluth to the restaurant that you can just relax and enjoy the unique offerings as you dine. We have a special of tuna tacos for an appetizer and it was packed with just seared tuna. So fresh and served with a lively aioli. We both had the lobster rolls which were brimming with very fresh lobster--you would think we were on the east coast and not Lake Superior. There is an awesome goat cheese cake which is topped with spun sugar. We never would have ordered it if we hadn't seen so many of them pass our table. When we got ours, the woman at the table behind us came over to ask what it was and took a picture. It tasted as good as it looked! Be sure to try it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“North Shore Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stopped by the New Scenic Cafe many times, and have always totally enjoyed the creative appetizers, sandwiches, and dinners. The menu is constantly changing, based upon the season and fresh ingrediants available. Their versions of the "ham and cheese" and "BLT" are really some thing to experience, as is their fig/blue cheese on baquette appetizer. They offer a goat cheese salad, as well as other interesting salads, gourmet soups, and breads brought in from a Mpls. bakery. This cafe should be definately be on your "be sure to stop here"list. It's a North Shore gem!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mound, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food at New Scenic Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

New Scenic Cafe changes their menu fairly regularly but they have no problem whipping you up something that isn't on the menu. Having some dietary restrictions, I asked about ingredients in a certain dish and was told "We can make you something -- what can you have?" They made a lovely dinner and were happy to use whatever they had in the kitchen to meet my restrictions.

Healthy food, friendly, creative staff -- stop at The New Scenic cafe next time you are on the North Shore.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gourmet food in a bucolic setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is THE place to eat on the North Shore Scenic Drive within the first 30 miles from Duluth. Surprisingly modern, fresh cuisine in a charming cabin across the road from Lake Superior. Open all afternoon for travelers not on a rigid mealtime schedule.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Scenic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to New Scenic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Scenic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.