We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive and the wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Scenic Cafe

New Scenic Cafe
5461 N Shore Dr, Duluth, MN 55804-2918
218-525-6274
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 230 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Worth the drive and the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place has killer food. It is well worth the drive and the waiting in line (if you have to). Especially great in the summer when their flowers are in bloom out front. Otherwise, a great day trip for some great food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    79
    29
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

After a visit along Lake Superior shore (Two harbors & Duluth) we found this nice place off highway 61. Very good gourmet food style with a short selection of good wines

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We love the Scenic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I love to go to the Scenic for special occasions. It is a bit pricey (thus only special occasions) but it is DELICIOUS. Favorite items include the french onion soup (usually on the menu) but we also have liked many seasonal dishes like the figs with blue cheese and walnuts from this fall. A fantastic place to stop for a nice lunch on your way up the shore, or to drive up for a special dinner. Great views of Lake Superior as well!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneaoplis, MN
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant is on Scenic 61 (not to be confused with the 4 lane highway running between Duluth and Two Harbors) which is a beautiful drive in itself, and this restaurant makes a perfect stop along the way. It's in a beautiful spot just on the lake, they have a lovely garden outside in the summer, with a few patio tables. While, the scenery is worth it alone, the food is stellar and inventive here! The Ahi Tuna tacos (a regular special item) are phenomenal, the burgers are killer, I've had the egg and asparagus sandwich twice and it's so delicious! They have a nice wine list and the staff is lovely. We recently had the above mentioned tacos and egg sandwich, a lovely arugula salad with fennel, candied pepitas, and pinenuts, and the artichoke slather. All were top notch. My only let down was the grasshopper mouse for dessert. It was definitely good, by any measure, but it just didn't seem to have the finesse of everything else. Still a wonderful meal and I will go out of my way to eat here any time I am on the North Shore.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Awesome Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Between the atmosphere and the food, this is by far the best place to eat in Minnesota outside of the Twin Cities. We ordered starters, and entrees, and everything was very tasty. Seasonal ingredients, tasted very fresh, and was presented nicely. The service was good, and we enjoyed everything very much. We will for sure be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Scenic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to New Scenic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Scenic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.