We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar

Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar
405 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2307
(218) 727-4921
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 230 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ohio
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for dinner when staying at a nearby hotel and while the service was quite good, the food was disappointing. We started with the cheese plate appetizer with drinks. The cheese selection seemed more appropriate for dessert and, most distressingly, the cheese was served cold. The portion size would be suitable for several people to share. On the server's recommendation, I ordered the gnocchi, which were slightly undercooked and heavily covered with a bland spinach sauce. The portion, again, was large. My spouse liked his pasta but wished it had not been so bland. This struck me as a restaurant catering to tourists.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    59
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hands down the best grilled shrimp I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went to Bellisio's for the first time on Sunday, 9/1/13 when we visited Duluth with another couple who had been there many times. Parking is right in back of the restaurant and there's a $4 fee, but you're given a coupon to have the fee refunded if you order an entree at either Bellisio's or Grandma's Saloon.
Bellisio's patio is small and noisy because of its location right on Canal Street so we chose to go inside. We arrived during happy hour and we sat at a high-top in the bar and enjoyed glasses of wine with the focaccia and olive oil that our server brought while we decided what to eat. David, our server, was very good about explaining the dishes and preparations and patient as we went back and forth on what to choose.
We had eaten a substantial lunch so my husband and I decided to share an appetizer of Grilled Shrimp and Fried Green Tomatoes. Here's the description from the menu: "Four jumbo shrimp marinated in olive oil, garlic, lemon, and fresh thyme, then grilled and served over mixed baby greens with polenta-crusted fried green tomatoes topped with garlic dipping sauce". The shrimp are skewered on a rosemary stem for extra flavor during the grilling. OMG--shrimp are one of our favorite foods so we've had them every which way, but those shrimp had great flavor and were grilled perfectly with a little char. The greens were dressed lightly with a tasty citrus vinaigrette, and the sauce on the fried green tomatoes was smooth and garlicky--I cleaned up every bit of it off the plate with my bread.
I prefer fried green tomatoes that have been dusted with bread crumbs mixed with oregano and parmesan, but the polenta crust was fine and the tomatoes were cooked perfectly. We asked our server to bring another skewer of the shrimp and they were just as good as the first ones.
Our friends shared the Fettuccine Alfredo and invited us to try a taste. It was creamy and flavorful and our friends said it's the best they've ever had in any restaurant so one of them has it whenever they come to Bellisio's.
Happy hour is in the bar on Sunday through Thursday from 3 to 6 and apps are $3 off, wines are $2 off, and beer is $1 off. Prices are a bit higher than in many restaurants, but the quality of the food is high and the happy hour specials help out a bit and sharing an appetizer or an entree makes it more affordable.
We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great find while walking around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stopped in thinking we would just have a drink and ended up having dinner. They have a patio which was full - it was a beautiful day - so we sat inside. The bread is good. The service was prompt and friendly. The risotto was very good and so was the chicken fettucine. We would return to Bellisio's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dinner on the plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner last night at bellisio's in Duluth Minnesota. Wasn't terribly Hungary so ordered an appetizer of grilled shrimp, argula salad and polenta crusted fried green tomatoes. It was just perfect for a light meal. We sat on the patio and weather was perfect. The service was very good and timely. The ginger and Jameson was very tasty and only $4.50! The Canal park area doesn't have a lot to choose from and this was a nice respite. Especially for those of us who were not traveling with children. There were none on the patio which in a very family area was kinda nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I was not impressed. It's pricey considering that the food wasn't that great. I ordered green fried tomatoes as an appetizer. The polenta coating on them killed the dish. It was over coated and raw when served to me. I couldn't even taste the tomatoes. As my entree, I ordered the fettuccine Alfredo pasta with shrimp. It was just average. The sauce was too buttery/oily. I will not visit this place again. Oh, I forgot to say, that we spend $50 including tip and a $4 discount for parking next to Bellisimo. My husbad had a bruschetta as an appetizer, and spaghetti for his Entree. We had just water to drink. That would be a good price for LUNCH ( which is was what we had) only if the food was good. My husband came here sometimes when he lived in the boonies and it was an agreeable alternative to Tim Hortons (he does not like food chain restaurants.) However, I think that Tim Hortons is not looking so bad after today.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.