We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian food in Duluth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar

Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar
405 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2307
(218) 727-4921
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 229 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Minnesota
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Duluth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I came here for lunch & had the Caprese Salad & the Roasted Chicken Minestrone. The tomatoes are excellent, even in the winter, due to local greenhouse nearby in Wisconsin. The atmosphere is a drawback, okay on a dark evening, but during the day, it would be nice to have a view. Service was very attentive. Convenient parking. Of the several Italian restaurants in town, I think this is the best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    59
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not worth.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

wife and i spent the weekend in Duluth MN and some locals told us about the place. we got there on a saturday night around 630pm and there was no waiting at all, only about 5 or 6 tables with people in it, that was the sign to move on and choose another place, but we decided to try since some people said it was good. the place was empty and yet we got a table close to the kitchen, very noisy. when we got the menu it had a lot of dishes, but nothing that really sounded good, the appetizer list was longer than the main courses, if you like beef don’t go there. after a while we decided to get the fish for me and my wife had only calamari from the appetizer list. first let me tell you that the price of the dish is not small and does not include a salad. while we waited for the food they brought a “Italian” bread, soggy in some oil, no taste. the food showed up not long after, the fish was burnt on the edges and no taste at all (how can you mess up fish?). it was laying on a bed of mashed potatoes (from a box) and some veggies which was the only good thing on the plate. I mentioned the fish after one bite and a new one was brought to me, not much better than the first. the calamari was very plain, no seasoning in the batter and was under cooked a little. overall not a good experience at all and I would no go back. no dish is cheaper than 20.00, and that is just for some plain pasta with sauce in it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Italian food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is more of an upscale fine dinning place. The food is good, but the prices are pretty expensive. Wouldn't recommend bringing young children there. Also located in the middle of Canal Park.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duluth mn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced & bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Service was slow, very. At these prices salad should be included, not $9 extra. We were near the kitchen, too noisy. Garlic mashed potatoes had no flavor.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, nice outdoor seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stopped here for lunch one day and sat outside. The food was tasty and the outdoor seating was wonderful! Great service, too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.