We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth finding this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Avenue Cafe

Lake Avenue Cafe
394 Lake Avenue South, DeWitt Seitz Marketplace, Duluth, MN 55802-2325
(218) 722-2355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 199 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“worth finding this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Down in the tourista part of Duluth, this place is upstairs and easy to miss - Don't.

Wifey had the sauted whitefish - fantastic. I had the fried perch tacos - scrumptious. The service was very fast and attentive. The price was very reasonable.

When we travel, we try to find local places to get a taste of local cuisine. Places like Lake Avenue Grill are the reason why we to skip the franchises and chain operations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    54
    26
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We read the reviews and were not disappointed. I had bacon wrapped dates (I know it sounds funky) they were delicious...my husband had the crap cakes and they were equally good. We would highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Under staffed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Slow service. The salads came before drinks and appetizers. Our observation was that they were understaffed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food good . . .service not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We ate here on our innkeeper's recommendation. Looks like the name has been changed from Lake Avenue Cafe to Lake Avenue Bar and Restaurant (?) Not sure what's up with that.

We had a reservation and were seated at a table near the bar. The bartender was our server. We ordered a salad to share and two entrees. Waited quite a while ~ never got the salads ~ and were finally served our entrees by someone else. We told her we had ordered a salad but that we'd just go ahead and take the entrees. She spoke to the bartender who literally waved a "sorry" to us from behind the bar and that was that. He never apologized personally for the salad mix up nor did he ever even come back to ask us if we'd like another drink. Really indifferent service.

The food was good ~ not piping hot so I'm thinking it sat there awhile before it was brought to us ~ but tasty. Nice ambiance and seemed to be frequented by locals. I'd go back but would ask for a seat somewhere else with a different server.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food in Duluth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Have been to the Lake Avenue
Cafe many times,very prompt friendly service.Good menu choices and tasty the Lake Superior fish cakes are great

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Avenue Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lake Avenue Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Avenue Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.