We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good . . .service not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Avenue Cafe

Lake Avenue Cafe
394 Lake Avenue South, DeWitt Seitz Marketplace, Duluth, MN 55802-2325
(218) 722-2355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 230 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food good . . .service not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We ate here on our innkeeper's recommendation. Looks like the name has been changed from Lake Avenue Cafe to Lake Avenue Bar and Restaurant (?) Not sure what's up with that.

We had a reservation and were seated at a table near the bar. The bartender was our server. We ordered a salad to share and two entrees. Waited quite a while ~ never got the salads ~ and were finally served our entrees by someone else. We told her we had ordered a salad but that we'd just go ahead and take the entrees. She spoke to the bartender who literally waved a "sorry" to us from behind the bar and that was that. He never apologized personally for the salad mix up nor did he ever even come back to ask us if we'd like another drink. Really indifferent service.

The food was good ~ not piping hot so I'm thinking it sat there awhile before it was brought to us ~ but tasty. Nice ambiance and seemed to be frequented by locals. I'd go back but would ask for a seat somewhere else with a different server.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    49
    21
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food in Duluth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Have been to the Lake Avenue
Cafe many times,very prompt friendly service.Good menu choices and tasty the Lake Superior fish cakes are great

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I had lunch on Sunday at Lake Avenue Cafe during a short stop in Duluth. We both enjoyed our meal. The food and service was great. I had the Deconstructed Fish and Chips, he had the whitefish sandwich. I am including a photo of the Deconstructed Fish and Chips because I wasn't sure what to expect. It was really good. The fish is grilled and the crunchy would be breading is sprinkled on top. For those looking for a healthy choice you can ask for them to hold the crunchy topping. It does include two fillets they are stacked on top of each other when they're brought to the table. The fish sandwich was also very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Huevos Rancheros”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wow! A delicious presentation of a traditional favorite. Lake Ave's huevos rancheros get five stars. This is a breakfast or brunch item that you will definitely want to try. I will be back for more!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The menu was a little different so I settled on a pesto pizza. Pizza was good but was slightly burnt . Had I not been with a group of people I would have probably had them redo it . Everyone else loved their food and the restaurant has an excellent reputation . The service was great and the food came out in a timely manner . I would go back and recommend it to others .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Avenue Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lake Avenue Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Avenue Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.