We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in Duluth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Avenue Cafe

Lake Avenue Cafe
394 Lake Avenue South, DeWitt Seitz Marketplace, Duluth, MN 55802-2325
(218) 722-2355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 231 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, International, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food in Duluth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Have been to the Lake Avenue
Cafe many times,very prompt friendly service.Good menu choices and tasty the Lake Superior fish cakes are great

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    52
    23
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I had lunch on Sunday at Lake Avenue Cafe during a short stop in Duluth. We both enjoyed our meal. The food and service was great. I had the Deconstructed Fish and Chips, he had the whitefish sandwich. I am including a photo of the Deconstructed Fish and Chips because I wasn't sure what to expect. It was really good. The fish is grilled and the crunchy would be breading is sprinkled on top. For those looking for a healthy choice you can ask for them to hold the crunchy topping. It does include two fillets they are stacked on top of each other when they're brought to the table. The fish sandwich was also very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Huevos Rancheros”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wow! A delicious presentation of a traditional favorite. Lake Ave's huevos rancheros get five stars. This is a breakfast or brunch item that you will definitely want to try. I will be back for more!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The menu was a little different so I settled on a pesto pizza. Pizza was good but was slightly burnt . Had I not been with a group of people I would have probably had them redo it . Everyone else loved their food and the restaurant has an excellent reputation . The service was great and the food came out in a timely manner . I would go back and recommend it to others .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

After a busy day at the zoo we stopped here for some lunch. I got a burger and my mom got the chicken fettuccine. Both were really tasty- and the tomato jam on the burger was awesome! Our server was incredibly friendly, too. Glad we came here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Avenue Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lake Avenue Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Avenue Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.