We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe

Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe
394 S Lake Ave, Ste LL1, Duluth, MN 55802-2335
+1 218-723-0075
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 229 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Everything from our award winning breads to our crisp golden hash browns are made from scratch daily. Whether it's muffins for your morning meeting or a cake for your wedding, the Amazing Grace Bakery and Cafe is gladly here to serve you. We have always seen the need for locally conscious and globally friendly businesses. That's why we also specialize in local eggs from Promised Land Farms, local honey from the Bar Bell Bee Ranch, fresh local beer from the Bent Paddle Brewing Company, beans from local roasters Alakef, local syrup from Simple Gifts, all of our to go containers and utensils are compostable, and we also compost all of our food and coffee waste. This bakery that added a coffee shop that started making sandwiches that started making breakfast all in the same spot has been locally owned and operated since its inception, 1995. Built on one iconic saying from our late founder, "be kind, be brave, don't eat bad bread", the Amazing Grace has held true to those ideals for nearly two decades and will for many more to come.
Shell Lake, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We met some friends here mid-morning so we did not order off of the menu, but purchased some goodies from the bakery. Some of us had fried cinnamon rolls, caramel rolls, and muffins. We were disappointed in the quality of the food. They were very dry and over-baked. We would be willing to go back to try something off of the breakfast menu, maybe!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    77
    15
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stopped by Amazing Grace for dessert...to re-energize after biking the lake walk....My husband had a divine chocolate cake and I had the the rhubarb pie....they were both delicious. The outdoor eating area is fun and we really enjoyed our treats. We will definitely stop here on our next trip to Duluth and canal park.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had breakfast at this restaurant a few years ago, and knew that we wanted to return on this trip to Duluth for lunch.
We each had a sandwich which was delicious - a nice change from fried food and fries while traveling. Of course, we each got a dessert - 1 chocolate chip cookie and 1 seven layer bar - both were very good.
Because it is so popular, it is crowded and we had to wait a few minutes to sit outside on the patio. Don't let the congested entryway scare you off - there is a line to order and pay and the bakery counter is located right inside the entrance too.
This will be a regular spot for us to eat while in Duluth in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good baked goods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stopped to get coffee and a bakery item. had to wait a while in line at the bakery but the coffee and baked goods were very good. Took our order to go and enjoyed it on the lake front nearby.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Baked goods are wonderful Gluten free available”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a regular scone,very good. Gluten free chocolate cookie excellent. Cinnamon struesel muffin gluten free wonderful

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.