We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Famous Daves!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's Barbeque

Famous Dave's Barbeque
355 Lake Avenue South, Duluth, MN 55802
(218) 740-3180
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 229 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Big Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
“Best Famous Daves!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have had poor experiences at most Famous Dave's I have been to. Not this one. The service was wonderful, the food was just as good. I highly recommend their burgers, they have brisket in them and are sooo flaverful. It is fun to try all the sauces they have on the table. The portions are very large so come hungry!! I will be coming back for their burgers!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savage, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food for a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived at 4:30 to eat an early dinner. Was nice as it was not bustling with people yet. We each ordered a dinner plate (around $13) and there was so much food that my adult son and I wished we had split one meal and ordered an extra side. One of the managers sat with us and helped us (via his iphone) to get info on the movie theater that was nearby (our night activity). Very friendly staff. DELICIOUS food. Worth stopping at.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great lunches,reasonably priced,outside seating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice selection of reasonably priced lunches,outside seating. Very close to canal park. Wonderful comprehensive menu (have to request it)listing all the ingredients in each and every thing they serve. Quite a few gluten few,preservaive free options. There were 5 meals ordered,each one different and all were very good. The spicy pickles are a don't miss. They are perfect with bq.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The food was good but the amount was very small. I ordered the beef brisquet and I had four tiny thing pieces on a piece of toast that if I placed them all together would have not even covered the top of a card, I was SHOCKED that this was a serviing, I had the lunch special but for $8.00 I expected a bit more than that along with some coleslaw- which was very good- and a corn muffin. A person leaves there quite hungry. My daughter ordered the same special only for her meat option she ordered bbq chicken and received a wing and breast. I guess they were running short on beef brisquet or something that day.I do not recommend this to anyone who is hungry.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you like BBQ, you'll love this place! I'm from Duluth and if I want BBQ this is where I go. It is down in the Canal park area which can sometimes be a busy, but it is great food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.