We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk to your Saves list
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2211 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% More Wyndham Rewards
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Southeast Kentucky
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Mostly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed four nights here while on vacation in Duluth. Upon check-in, there was a problem with the credit card machine and it wouldn't process cards. The clerk Christoph was very friendly, even though he said it was his last day, and after about ten minutes of trying our card, he finally let us in our room so we wouldn't have to wait any longer. He had to call tech support to get the machine back up and we stopped by the office and settled the check in later that evening. One thing to keep in mind is this hotel doesn't have an elevator, but we still wanted a third floor room, which we got. We used the side stairwell to access the third floor. One thing we noticed was the huge pile of dead bugs at each landing under the light. The pile was so scattered out you had to walk through them. I understand there is nothing that can be done to stop the bugs from dying under the light, but they could be swept up each day. We were there four days and they weren't swept up until the day we left, or maybe the night before. Not a big problem but not the first thing you want your guests to see before they even get to the room. Upon entering the room, things were much better. The room was spacious, the furniture was in good repair, everything looked very clean, the wireless was easy to connect to and had good speed. There was a microwave and mini-fridge. We had a nice view of the lake. There was a problem with a couple of the electrical outlets being worn out and loose. When I tried to plug something in, the plug would fall back out. The outlet by the computer desk was that way, as well as the outlet by the bed. The bed was clean and comfortable. My wife and I travel with no kids, so we often don't require housekeeping very often, as was the case here. There was a couple of times we required a new roll of toilet paper, and we called down to the office and Nathan brought it right up to us. That was very nice because some places will tell you to come to the office and get it. Not here. We wanted housekeeping to spiff up our room on about the third day of our stay. We decided to let them give the room a freshening up and restock our supplies. When we got back to the room that evening, housekeeping had been in the room. They did not clean the commode, they did not leave any extra toilet paper even though the roll was getting low, they did not leave any kleenex even though we were completely out, and we thought they made the bed, but when we pulled back the cover all they did was put the cover over the messed up bed without making it. No clean sheets, no making the bed other than putting the cover on it and placing the pillows in a row so it looked made. I don't know what they did besides change towels and wash cloths. They should have at least made the bed, even if they didn't change the sheets! Other than that there were no other problems and we would more than likely stay here again but I would expect better housekeeping next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room. The other side of the motel faces a parking lot. There isn't an eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Roundabout41348,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post your detailed review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly sorry we didn't deliver an excellent guest experience to you and offer my apologies for the problems you encountered at the front desk, the dead bugs we didn't clean up, and for the poor job our housekeeping department did for you. We will definitely use your review in discussions and training to make needed improvements to our operation. We'd like to make this up to you and hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can discuss this further. We look forward to regaining your trust.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    150
    64
    23
    9
See reviews for
125
93
24
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shell Lake
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Would have got 5 stars but mini fridge made a horrible noise all night long, and curtains did not close all the was so sun was blazing in window at 5am. Otherwise nice, affordable, close to waterpark and food options.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Dawn F,

Thanks for posting your review about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry for the discomfort and disturbance you experienced in your room and offer my apologies. If you didn't let our front desk know about the problems in your room before departing, please contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can address both the drape and the fridge issues immediately. We value your business and your feedback and hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Impressed with zest of Jen at check in and out! Helpful, suggestions and general personality. Second check in a wk later, agent had "rushed" attitude, not as willing to listen to ?'s, etc Room was okf for time spent and comparable prices in area. Appreciated the shuttle as most hotels in area do not offer!. Breakfast fit the bill, no problem with cup location!!
BEST DEAL was the cost of tickets to water park; so reasonable!! Location for use of Lakewalk trail convenient, too!!

Room Tip: Lake front rooms offer some scenery!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear MOVINGRANDMA,

Thank you for coming back to stay with us and sharing your comments. I'm sorry you did not receive the same excellent service during your second visit that Jen gave you previously, and I apologize for any disappointment or inconvenience you experienced. I'll use your review in discussions and training so this does not continue or recur. It was very nice of you to include your positive comments, and I'll be sure that Jen receives the positive recognition she deserves for being mentioned here by you. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk

Address: 2211 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk Hotel is conveniently located just off I-35 on US Hwy 61, 2 miles north of Downtown Duluth, and offers the comforts of home at reasonable prices!All guestrooms are newly remodeled and feature amenities you count on when traveling for business or pleasure. Start your day off with a wonderful free breakfast, surf the web with free wireless high speed internet and keep up your exercise program in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.