We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to dine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Brewery

Canal Park Brewery
300 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN
218-464-4790
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 199 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pub
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
496 helpful votes 496 helpful votes
“Good place to dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We couldn't get a table the first night we tried so we attempted a second evening when we were more successful in securing a high top in the bar area.

There was a good choice and we opted for fish (walleye) fillets with French fries and home made tartare sauce. Very tasty and filling. The on site beers were excellent and our server was happy to bring us 2 samples to choose from. We both went for the Pilsner which was light and refreshing.

The only possible down side is that it is a bit noisy so not the place for in depth conversations however a good option in the Canal Park area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    105
    37
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“We love places like this!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We tend to seek out pub-style or microbrewery restaurants, especially within walking distance of our hotel, and this one fit the bill perfectly! The food was very good. We were attracted by the cheese/ale soup, which was very good, but not as thick or tasty as another establishment earlier in our trip. The pale ale was also very good. We were seated with a view to Lake Superior. It was not very warm that day, so outside seating was not desirable, although it was available. They also had a large fire pit going that would seat about 8 people around it comfortably. The service was fabulous! If we ever get back to Duluth, we will come here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Duluth Brewry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Fits mold of new, casual, upscale brewpubs. Beer is great quality and usually have nice selection. Food is great for pub. Clean fun place that you cannot beat in location as it overlooks Lake Superior! Must stop for at least a beer when in town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nicely crafted craft brewery in Canal Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Beautiful views of the Superior await while you sip hand crafted brews and munch on homemade food. The service is a bit disorganized but not enough to discourage another trip. If you're a fan of beer ( who isn't ?) and you're in or traveling through Duluth, this local locale is a must stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yadkinville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Need to make print on menus larger for us old folks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Fun atmosphere with great service! Did beer tasting of 8 small samples. French fries best I've had anywhere! Suggest you put your name on wait list for dining table and go straight to bar and watch for table to open up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Park Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Canal Park Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.