We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Specials” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Azteca's Mexican Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Azteca's Mexican Grill
2224 Mountain Shadow Drive, Duluth, MN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 229 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
minneapolis minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Specials”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Food was just average. Salsa should have been served with a straw no texture just soup. Beware of the Margarita special they tell you at time of your bill it doesn't include strawberry ones at 11.00 a piece for those.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, MN
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great if you like Mexican, not so much if you don't”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I recently visited Azteca Mexican Restaurant for her birthday dinner. I've never been a big fan of Mexican food, although my wife enjoys it a lot more and regularly had it when she lived in Georgia.

We arrived around 5:00 p.m. on a weekday and were seated right away. A bowl of tortilla chips and salsa (no charge) was brought out right away. We had ample time to study the menu and the waiter checked in on us regularly. The menu has a fairly wide range of Mexican dishes, though for those of us who aren't as fond of it there's still an ample selection and a few American dishes if one desires. Prices seemed about average overall. Appetizers seemed to be on the small side for the price, though the entrees made up for it. The speed of service was very fast.

We did have a number of things we thought could be improved, primarily with aspects of the service. While we were seated and served very quickly, the waiter did not seem especially friendly. I asked a question about one of the menu items, and he came across as though I should have known what the dish included without having to ask. Also, each of us ended up getting something incorrect in our order. I ended up getting just a cheese quesadilla when I ordered the one with cheese and chicken. My wife ended up with a diet Coke instead of the regular Coke she ordered. The quesadilla ended up being surprisingly thin and not exceptionally sized.

My rating is probably the average of how my wife and I would rate it separately. Once she got the regular Coke she ordered, she said her meal was great. I ended up leaving still somewhat hungry and disappointed, though I knew having Mexican meant a lot to my wife for her birthday and I wanted her to have it even though it wasn't my favorite. Still, both of us agreed there are better options out there for Mexican.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great addition to Duluth.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Almost everything was delicious. I had the shrimp faijitas, my husband had the enchilada platter. Mine entree was good minus the beans. They tasted a bit burnt. All the enchilada's were great except the beef.

Fun atmosphere with amazing wall paintings. Just a fun place to be with great, friendly service. Next time we will try some authentic drinks and stay away from the HFCS margaritas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“love the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Really great food,sauces,hot sauce,rice etc. Shrimp enchildas marvelous. Enchildas salsa verde great,chimis terrific. Unique handpainted decor. Reasonable prices.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We eat out a lot, and love Mexican food, but we won't come back to this restaurant. The food was bland, the salsa was bottled, the plates were cold, and the pork was greasy. The service was great, but the wait staff should not wear powerful cologne as it could send some people into an allergy attack!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azteca's Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Azteca's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azteca's Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.