We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canal Park Dinner Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grizzly's Wood-Fire Grill

Grizzly's Wood-Fire Grill
310 Lake Ave S, Duluth, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 225 restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Wausau, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Canal Park Dinner Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Casual atmosphere with nice open concept. Menu had plenty to choose from, my sandwich was very good and flavorful. Found the employees to be friendly and the bartender was very attentive and polite! Good selection of tap beers.
Would I go back, yes!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    25
    22
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
463 helpful votes 463 helpful votes
“Fine -good option in the canal park area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were seated quickly and our server was attentive and friendly.

We opted for the rotisserie chicken and salmon as entrees. The salmon entrée had a salsa which was slightly spicier than expected and one part of the chicken was decidedly pink however overall the meal was ok.

We were served efficiently however didn't feel rushed. I think we would probably give it another try - perhaps minus the chicken.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yummy and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We got in late to Duluth and after checking in to our hotel, were looking for a good dinner. We walked around Canal Park a bit and found Grizzly's. Wow. Late as it was for dinner, the server and the kitchen did not disappoint. Their pasta dishes are delicious. The Bear Creek Pasta was mine and hubby had Diablo....we shared because we couldn't decide which was more delicious. And our daughter still raves about the Brown Sugar/Bacon Cheddar burger. Great service, great food, great atmosphere....for a reasonable price. Wish I had a restaurant this good in my own neighborhood!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Have eaten here several times when in town, it's awesome. Great atmosphere. They have great bbq but I usually have something more healthy for lunch. This time I tried their blackened salmon, it was outstanding. Can't wait to travel there again for a refill...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Uneven food quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Gotta say, we do get a hankerin' for Grizzly's once in a while. When their Oriental Chicken Salad is good, it's really, really good. The wings are reliably good and far cheaper than the chain that specializes in wings across the road.
But when it's bad, it's bad.
I think sometimes restaurants get youngsters working who probably don't eat salad, and they don't know to not plate up greens that have dried edges, brown spots, or even wilt. Would you eat that? The dressing for this salad is yummy, and fairly often (2/3 of the time), the chicken is well - not over- cooked, the greens are great, and all is right with dinner. The other 1/3 of the time, it's usually the salad greens that are the problem. Our waiter there this last trip was great; friendl and attentive (I think he's been there awhile). I didn't eat all of my salad in the restaurant but took it home (MINUS points for styrofoam or plastic as the only to-go choices!). When I got it home and looked at it, I realized what I did not see in the dimmer bar lights - just how off the lettuces were. Uk. Picked out the chicken and threw the rest away.
Maybe next time we'll hit the 2/3 good. In the meantime, hubby enjoys the wings!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly's Wood-Fire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Grizzly's Wood-Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grizzly's Wood-Fire Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.