We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for Everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grizzly's Wood-Fire Grill

Grizzly's Wood-Fire Grill
310 Lake Ave S, Duluth, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 197 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Cloquet, Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We live up here, and every once in a while we get a "hankerin'" for a good pulled pork sandwich (done two ways--BBQ and mustard) or Grizzley's BBQ chicken salad. Duluth has great places to eat, no doubt, but this is our "go-to" place for comfort food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    14
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sioux falls
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very good food party of 7 and everyone loved it, Had the spit brisket sandwich excellant.The chicken was awesome. Wild rice soup very good,cheesey hashbrown very good.No complaints from anyone. I wish we had one in Sioux Falls!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Earth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No complaints here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was a nice experience here with a party of 7. It was extremely quiet on a Monday evening. Our server was knowledgable of the menu, prompt, and interacted with the kids. Food was hot and nice sized portions. Overall, very good! Not excellent material as far as food, but definitely nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Drum, New York
2 reviews
“Awful Service mediocre food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The food is the only thing that was good at this place, and it wasn't nothing spectacular. Our server, Erin, whom must be what this place is named after because she was a beastly grizzly bear herself. RUDE RUDE RUDE! When she took our order she just stared at us, didn't tell us that our food came with sides, just expected us to know. She acted like she was so busy, she only had 3 tables to tend to since it was not busy at all there. When our food came she didn't ask if we needed anything else with our food just dropped it off quickly and disappeared. My husband had gotten a steak, and was wanting to get some steak sauce for it and I was in need of a refill on my water, we waited 15 minutes before we even saw her again to flag her down to ask for steak sauce. She replied we have "57 and A1" my husband requested A1 and she turned the corner grabbed the bottle and slammed it down on the table, and it was 57. 57 sounds nothing like A1, so no clue as to how she got that confused. So needless to say we were done with our meal. We waited for another 10/15 minutes before she reappeared from the back and asked for our check. We paid and then asked for a manager to talk to. The manager was nice, but didn't have anything to say about the issues we had but offering us a promo card, yeah like we want to come back to have crappy service. I would NOT go to this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Happy hour is great for wings and appetizers. But my favorite entreeat any time, which is well worth it, is the smaller portion of steak bites off the main menu. You get a salad, garlic mashed potatos, and a little loaf of breat for $12. Easily can be shared. All of the food is tasty! This just happens to be my favorite. Great bartenders...just eat in the bar area because they have big tvs and the atmosphere is more fun than the dining room area. Great for meeting friends or bigger groups too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly's Wood-Fire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Grizzly's Wood-Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grizzly's Wood-Fire Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.