We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the nostalgia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tom's Historic Logging Camp

Tom's Historic Logging Camp
5797 North Shore Drive, Duluth, MN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 84 things to do in Duluth
Attraction details
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the nostalgia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and i went here to check it out on a recent vacation. It was very inexpensive and the gift shop was moderately priced. The actual tour was self guided and very enlightening as to how tough it was for these guys in the logging camps of the early 1900s. The animals that insisted that you feed them were pretty endearing too (and they got a few dollars of pet chow from us) however, the food that was served at the snack bar was delicious. The lunches my husband and I had were some of the best we've ever tasted and the guy that served them was so down to earth we would go back just to visit in a heartbeat. Don't hesitate to show your kids exactly what it was like way back when in northen Minnesota. It will make then appreciate their lives a bit more. And it's worth the stop especially for such a down-home price!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryant
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I thought this was a waste of our time. Take in the Glenshine mansion in Duluth instead! This is fairly primitive. We were all adults so maybe the kids would have a different opinion but our group was not impressed. The cost isn't that bad (I think it was $5) but don't go out of your way to see it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great shopping!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Didn't have time to go on the actual tour of the logging camp, but the shopping here is wonderful! All kinds of north country kitsch, and the owner is very friendly and seemed to remember people from their visits in previous years. Was able to find a lot of trinkets, tee shirts, jewelry etc for various friends at home. Would definitely stop again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a great experience, I'm so glad that our family stopped here during our Duluth vacation. The owners are extremely nice, you can tell they enjoy meeting the families that stop by their establishment. The self guided tour was informational and fun. The kids enjoyed feeding the animals and the fish, and I enjoyed how easy on the pocketbook it was. Unlike zoos that cost $.50 for a few pieces of feed, a quarter gets you a handful. The gift shop had a lot of fun items which were very reasonably priced. The food at Tom's Too was amazing and also very reasonable, all in all we were extremely satisfied...even the hard to please teenagers in our group. We're all looking forward to going again the next time we make it to that area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You just gotta go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The price is five bucks per adult but get another few bucks in quarters to feed the animals. If you have kids, they will love the animals! The clerk in the shop was very friendly and the prices were actually much cheaper than most attractions in the area..and way better than buying at canal park

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tom's Historic Logging Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom's Historic Logging Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.