We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Point Campground

Indian Point Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Point Campground
Save Saved
You added Indian Point Campground to your Saves list
75th Ave. West and Grand/ Hwy 23, Western Waterfront Trail, Duluth, MN 55407   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“VERY Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We reserved four nights at this campground based on the great reviews..."bathrooms are clean and modern"....."bathrooms are newer and very bright and clean". The treed grounds were pleasant and clean. The young man who checked us in was friendly and helpful. BUT the bathrooms were very dirty upon our arrival on Labor Day and were not cleaned the following day. Finally I inquired about when the bathrooms were to be cleaned. I was told it SHOULD be done daily and the young man said he would do some cleaning. He did empty the trash, put some cleaner in the toilet bowls and wipe off the sinks. The floors and showers remained very dirty. The laundry room looked as if it had not been cleaned for months and the front of one of the washers was falling off. We would not stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    0
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,129 reviews 1,129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 322 cities Reviews in 322 cities
869 helpful votes 869 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have stayed at over 42 campgrounds around the US since January and I would rate this one in the top third. The location is close to the Visitor's Center, Canal Park and the Skyline Drive. there was construction going on but the manager told us about it before we arrived and gave us directions to avoid it. She was so helpful during our stay and that means a lot when you are on the road and in unknown territory. She was spot on with her advice. The sites were drive through and fair y level. There was adequate space between them. Camp fired are allowed and the entire place is very clean. The wifi was good too. No train noise. It would be a five if it offered more for rec for families. I would return in a heartbeat. With a less positive manger, the scale would drop as well. She is the key to the success of this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here the end of June, to support our son who was running in Grandma's marathon. Campground is close to everything, 5 minutes to the bridge and attractions around it, 30-45 minutes to Amnicon and Pattison Falls...yet the campground feels like it is no where near a city, with a nice view of the river. While the campground perimeter is bordered with tree lines, the sites are pretty open. That said, the sites are large and well maintained. Bathrooms are clean and modern. It rained hard for 2 days while we were there, and although there was some standing water in some areas, overall the campground drained off pretty good. For the money and location this was a good buy to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faribault, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Indian Point for the first time in June of 2013. This is a great place to stay and when we were disappointed with another nearby campground on the way home we came back. While we were here there were not many other campers so it was very quiet. Bathrooms are newer and very bright and clean. Interior roads are crushed rock. Some of the electric and water are a bit of a stretch to the camper. Staff was friendly. We have pets and the folks in the office said they could set us up with pet sitters if we let them know in advance.
The campground is in a park-like setting on a point of land with water on about 3 sides. The St. Louis River flows in here to Lake Superior and while there is no dock for larger boats, kayaks and canoes can put in easily. The land and islands give protection from the big waters of Lake Superior. One block away is the Willard Monger bike trail, one of the most scenic trails around. There is also a 5 mile walking trail around the point which goes in both directions from here. One block away, is the Duluth Zoo.
We will stay here again and recommend this place to friends.
Marshall

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Indian Point Campground for a night over Labor Day weekend. We had a single tent, and brought her dog (a boxer) along. From the moment I stepped into the front office I received exceptionally friendly customer service. They offered plenty of advice on options in the area as well during our stay, which made it easier to plan our activities during the two days we spent in the Duluth area. We rented a canoe from the marina and had a great time paddling around a large island and into several scenic bay areas.

Site #64 is a great campsite for those with a tent and who prefer to "rough it" a little more as it is somewhat further removed from the other sites and more secluded in the woods.

We greatly enjoyed our stay, highly recommended!

Room Tip: #64 is great for tents and those who want to be a little further removed from the rest of the campgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Water at my site came thru a black water hose, not copper pipe or approved water hose.
Bathrooms are out dated.
Laundry machines are dirty and warn out. Room has bad smell.
The price for camping should be $28.00 to $32.00 not $38.00 to $43.00

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

At first sight my daughter and I were concerned about the lack of trees for a campground. But from check in to check out the exceptional customer service has us wanting to go back! The Park was very well maintained, the bathrooms were kept stocked and clean. If you need to have trees near you the. I suggest booking early and getting a site along the outside perimeter. We were tenting and had an electrical site on the inside which is lacking trees but it was still very nice and we had a wonderful time. We are looking forward to going back next year for our annual mother/daughter camping trip.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indian Point Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Point Campground

Address: 75th Ave. West and Grand/ Hwy 23, Western Waterfront Trail, Duluth, MN 55407
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Duluth
Also Known As:
Indian Point Campground Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Point Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.