We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, excellent facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Point Campground

Indian Point Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Point Campground
Save Saved
You added Indian Point Campground to your Saves list
75th Ave. West and Grand/ Hwy 23, Western Waterfront Trail, Duluth, MN 55407   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Indian Point Campground for a night over Labor Day weekend. We had a single tent, and brought her dog (a boxer) along. From the moment I stepped into the front office I received exceptionally friendly customer service. They offered plenty of advice on options in the area as well during our stay, which made it easier to plan our activities during the two days we spent in the Duluth area. We rented a canoe from the marina and had a great time paddling around a large island and into several scenic bay areas.

Site #64 is a great campsite for those with a tent and who prefer to "rough it" a little more as it is somewhat further removed from the other sites and more secluded in the woods.

We greatly enjoyed our stay, highly recommended!

Room Tip: #64 is great for tents and those who want to be a little further removed from the rest of the campgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Water at my site came thru a black water hose, not copper pipe or approved water hose.
Bathrooms are out dated.
Laundry machines are dirty and warn out. Room has bad smell.
The price for camping should be $28.00 to $32.00 not $38.00 to $43.00

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

At first sight my daughter and I were concerned about the lack of trees for a campground. But from check in to check out the exceptional customer service has us wanting to go back! The Park was very well maintained, the bathrooms were kept stocked and clean. If you need to have trees near you the. I suggest booking early and getting a site along the outside perimeter. We were tenting and had an electrical site on the inside which is lacking trees but it was still very nice and we had a wonderful time. We are looking forward to going back next year for our annual mother/daughter camping trip.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

What a great location -- pretty much in the heart of Duluth, just a few minutes from all the sights, and yet serene and picturesque at the same time! I learned from the friendly staff, who were just learning the ropes of a new computer system, that the new management company had to bid against others to get the contract for this campground since it is owned by the city. Seems like the city made a good deal, because everyone was very helpful and the place was well-maintained. We had a nice spot by the water on a very uncrowded weekday. We were originally assigned to a spot closer to other RVs at first, but then we asked for a different spot since there were so many to choose from. This took a while on their computer system, but they worked hard and figured it out!

It would be nice if the shop had a few more amenities, but since it's right in Duluth, it's pretty easy to find what you need elsewhere. A few bug zappers outside the bathrooms might be nice too, although the bugs mostly kept to themselves!

All in all, a nice, peaceful night's sleep in preparation for a day of sightseeing in Duluth!

Room Tip: There are some nice spots near the water if you don't need a water hook-up for the RV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here over the July 4th holiday. Was planning to stay at Jay Cooke State Park but this is closed due to recent flooding. We are definitely glad we changed to here. A bit surprised they had openings for us as we had a big class A motorhome and large sites are not usually available at the last minute, much less having really good sites available. We read all the comments here and Facebook and can say what ever management problems were here before is for sure gone now. The managers are very accomodating and helpful with everything we asked of them. Campground is close to the Munger bike trail so this was great for us. It's about 5 miles from Canal Park but easy to get to as it's pretty close off the freeway. In fact it is located across from the Superior Zoo. The only thing we wished we had for the kids was a play ground. Definitely worth staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous! Very friendly staff - excellent rental bikes, bathrooms/showers clean and good working order. Camp sites neat, clean. Pleasantly surprised after reading earlier negative reviews. As of late June 2012 this is a great place to stay near Duluth - we will come back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place is much better now that new managers have taken over. No more trouble from neighbors and the new bathrooms and grounds are great. Answered our questions and offered the best service. I highly recommend Indian Point Campground this year (2012).

Room Tip: There are RV campsites and tent sites - your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indian Point Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Point Campground

Address: 75th Ave. West and Grand/ Hwy 23, Western Waterfront Trail, Duluth, MN 55407
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty lodging in Duluth
Also Known As:
Indian Point Campground Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Point Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.