We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Point Campground

Indian Point Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Point Campground
Save
You added Indian Point Campground to your Saves list
75th Ave. West and Grand/ Hwy 23, Western Waterfront Trail, Duluth, MN 55407   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

What a great location -- pretty much in the heart of Duluth, just a few minutes from all the sights, and yet serene and picturesque at the same time! I learned from the friendly staff, who were just learning the ropes of a new computer system, that the new management company had to bid against others to get the contract for this campground since it is owned by the city. Seems like the city made a good deal, because everyone was very helpful and the place was well-maintained. We had a nice spot by the water on a very uncrowded weekday. We were originally assigned to a spot closer to other RVs at first, but then we asked for a different spot since there were so many to choose from. This took a while on their computer system, but they worked hard and figured it out!

It would be nice if the shop had a few more amenities, but since it's right in Duluth, it's pretty easy to find what you need elsewhere. A few bug zappers outside the bathrooms might be nice too, although the bugs mostly kept to themselves!

All in all, a nice, peaceful night's sleep in preparation for a day of sightseeing in Duluth!

Room Tip: There are some nice spots near the water if you don't need a water hook-up for the RV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    0
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here over the July 4th holiday. Was planning to stay at Jay Cooke State Park but this is closed due to recent flooding. We are definitely glad we changed to here. A bit surprised they had openings for us as we had a big class A motorhome and large sites are not usually available at the last minute, much less having really good sites available. We read all the comments here and Facebook and can say what ever management problems were here before is for sure gone now. The managers are very accomodating and helpful with everything we asked of them. Campground is close to the Munger bike trail so this was great for us. It's about 5 miles from Canal Park but easy to get to as it's pretty close off the freeway. In fact it is located across from the Superior Zoo. The only thing we wished we had for the kids was a play ground. Definitely worth staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous! Very friendly staff - excellent rental bikes, bathrooms/showers clean and good working order. Camp sites neat, clean. Pleasantly surprised after reading earlier negative reviews. As of late June 2012 this is a great place to stay near Duluth - we will come back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place is much better now that new managers have taken over. No more trouble from neighbors and the new bathrooms and grounds are great. Answered our questions and offered the best service. I highly recommend Indian Point Campground this year (2012).

Room Tip: There are RV campsites and tent sites - your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The staff is horrible...we had reserved a pull-thru spot with a late checkout and when we arrived there was someone in our spot. The staff relocated us and then told us we had to leave early on our last day to accommodate a new guest. Pictures look much better than reality. Beware!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Range
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We made our reservations 3 weeks ahead. When we checked in-they only had us for one night- not two. They gave us a site for 2 nights-on the road and needed extension cords for electricity and a hose for water (apprx 100 feet away) When we said the reservation was for 2 nights -we were told "the computer does not lie" Staff not friendly-we were told "you will never find another campsite tonight"-which we did. We always thought that people who wrote bad reviews were just too picky-we are not-all you have to do is be nice. Very disappointed and will never recommend this camp ground. Owned by the city of Duluth-they should be embarrassed by the people who run this camp ground.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2006

My friend and I visited in October, but only stayed one night out of two. The reason being, is that a beaver felled a tree on our tent in the night. Luckily we were not seriously uninjured, though it was a close shave and the tent was ruined. We later saw that the area behind our campsite had many other stumps, showing that the beavers had been a continuous problem. The campground attendant was not adequately helpful in this incident and we did not feel safe in staying a second night.

We were not warned before set-up about the beaver problem even though the attendent had full knowledge and later said "I forgot, I should have told you." So PLEASE take heed where you pitch your tent or park your trailer, especially if your site is near the river. I hope that in posting this, no one else has an incident like this, or worse. If I had known ahead of time, our trip would have gone a lot easier. I would have loved to have stayed, the setting looked great and it seemed to have nice facilities. But overall, we were too shaken to appreciate the amenities.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#4 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
6.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Point Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Point Campground

Address: 75th Ave. West and Grand/ Hwy 23, Western Waterfront Trail, Duluth, MN 55407
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Duluth
Number of rooms: 74
Also Known As:
Indian Point Campground Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Point Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.