We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Camping Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Point Campground

Indian Point Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Point Campground
Save
You added Indian Point Campground to your Saves list
75th Ave. West and Grand/ Hwy 23, Western Waterfront Trail, Duluth, MN 55407   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Camping Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous! Very friendly staff - excellent rental bikes, bathrooms/showers clean and good working order. Camp sites neat, clean. Pleasantly surprised after reading earlier negative reviews. As of late June 2012 this is a great place to stay near Duluth - we will come back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    0
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place is much better now that new managers have taken over. No more trouble from neighbors and the new bathrooms and grounds are great. Answered our questions and offered the best service. I highly recommend Indian Point Campground this year (2012).

Room Tip: There are RV campsites and tent sites - your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The staff is horrible...we had reserved a pull-thru spot with a late checkout and when we arrived there was someone in our spot. The staff relocated us and then told us we had to leave early on our last day to accommodate a new guest. Pictures look much better than reality. Beware!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Range
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We made our reservations 3 weeks ahead. When we checked in-they only had us for one night- not two. They gave us a site for 2 nights-on the road and needed extension cords for electricity and a hose for water (apprx 100 feet away) When we said the reservation was for 2 nights -we were told "the computer does not lie" Staff not friendly-we were told "you will never find another campsite tonight"-which we did. We always thought that people who wrote bad reviews were just too picky-we are not-all you have to do is be nice. Very disappointed and will never recommend this camp ground. Owned by the city of Duluth-they should be embarrassed by the people who run this camp ground.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2006

My friend and I visited in October, but only stayed one night out of two. The reason being, is that a beaver felled a tree on our tent in the night. Luckily we were not seriously uninjured, though it was a close shave and the tent was ruined. We later saw that the area behind our campsite had many other stumps, showing that the beavers had been a continuous problem. The campground attendant was not adequately helpful in this incident and we did not feel safe in staying a second night.

We were not warned before set-up about the beaver problem even though the attendent had full knowledge and later said "I forgot, I should have told you." So PLEASE take heed where you pitch your tent or park your trailer, especially if your site is near the river. I hope that in posting this, no one else has an incident like this, or worse. If I had known ahead of time, our trip would have gone a lot easier. I would have loved to have stayed, the setting looked great and it seemed to have nice facilities. But overall, we were too shaken to appreciate the amenities.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2003

We go to Duluth every year in May/June and spend a week at Indian Point Campground. Jeff is always acommodating and very nice to visit with and the campground dog, Sunny is always fun to play catch with. Indian Point is situated on a peninsula and is beautiful with mowed up lawns and walking trails. You can rent kayaks/canoes and walk right down to bay/water. There are a limited number of full hook up sites but most of the sites have electricity. There is a shower house and a laundry room also. The rates are $23 for a full hookup. The campground is located in West Duluth across the street from the Lake Superior Zoo.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indian Point Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Point Campground

Address: 75th Ave. West and Grand/ Hwy 23, Western Waterfront Trail, Duluth, MN 55407
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Duluth
Number of rooms: 74
Also Known As:
Indian Point Campground Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Point Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.