We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotton Mansion
Save
You added Cotton Mansion to your Saves list
2309 East First Street, Duluth, MN 55812-1808   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Cotton Mansion for the first time, second B&B visit overall. I must say it exceded both our expectations in the best way possible. Ken & Kimberly truly know how to make guests feel as comfortable as possible. The Mansion is very neat, Clean, Food is wonderful!they even accomadated my Egg allergy for breakfeast. I would tell everyone who is curious about a B&B. for any occasion, this is the best one!!! the Fireplace is a nice touch as well as a relaxing Whirlpool. best service, We will be back for yrs to come....

Room Tip: the Lilian James room is very nice and affordable for quick getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    6
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
2
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We got a late start going up to Duluth for a romantic weekend with my husband. We were definitly going to miss the Wine/Cheese social from 4-6pm that they put out for us. By 6pm of not checking in, Ken called and was wondering when we were going to arrive. This was a welcoming feeling since we have never been to a bed and breakfast and it sure beat a hotel where no one waiting for your arrival. He was very specific with directions of where he would leave the key and when they would be back, but if we needed anything to give them a call.

Upon arrival there was a key on the front door with specific directions on where to park and how our stay would work.

Walking into a beautifully restored mansion was an enchanting feeling. It was very quiet and relaxing. Ken and Kim were very accomidating and sweet. Our room was very cozy and the bed as comfortable as mine at home. Breakfast was delicious and the other couples were a joy to talk to at the breakfast table.

Definately will be going back!!

Room Tip: All rooms that we saw looked beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful 2 night stay at the Cotton Mansion, for our Honeymoon. We stayed in the carriage house in the Bella Flora room. Ken walked through our room with us explaining where the fridge, coffee, how the Jacuzzi tub worked as well as the shower. The bed was very comfortable, gas fire place was gorgeous. The room was clean, large, private and very cozy. They provided lavender candles, bath salts, shampoo, conditioner and even lotion. The Jacuzzi tub had an included heater that kept the water warm for as long as you wanted to enjoy it.

The mansion was built early 1900's. They have kept/restored all original furniture, wood work and light fixtures. It is beautiful. Ken ran through the entire history of the house and Cotton family during breakfast at our request.

They make AMAZING breakfasts. The first morning they made eggs Benedict with fresh fruit and an apple muffin. The second morning they served fresh pineapple with stuffed french toast. Very good!

We plan to go back!

Room Tip: The Bella Flora room in the Carriage house was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were in hopes for a relaxing winter get away and found ' The Cottage Mansion' online. Upon arrival all the doors to the house were locked. The knobs sticky with remnants of electrical tape. We waited in the cold for ten minutes until the owner conveniently decided to come to the door. unfortunatly the owners did not consider welcoming us, but instead quickly asked us for our debitcard and again disappeared for 10-15 minutes. many of the public rooms had broken glass in the cabinets, stains on the furniture, dust, dust and more dust. The food was was definatly below average. We tried our best to enjoy our wkend in the dirty 'mansion.' After we checked out we recieved an email claiming they had found 'stains' in the room we had stayed and had already charged our debit card to replace the low quality blanket that supposedly had 'stains' that appeared. We were shocked and ferious they had made a false claim, Had not bothered to call us first to discuss the problem and finally not having our permission,verbal or signed to charge our credit card. Our phone calls went unanswered when we tried to call. We asked for photos to be emailed to us of the supposed 'damage' but again nothing. we quickly had to cancel our debit card so they could not continue to charge us bogus 'fees'. There was no explication by email. Our debit card account bounced because of the unspeakable 'replacement fee' they charged us. Finally our bank had to be involved. After investigation the bank found the money had been falsely taken and our money was returned to us. A very disappointing and long weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annmeyers, Owner at Cotton Mansion, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are the recipient of Trip Advisor's 2012 Certificate of Excellence. In order to have attained this achievement we would not have the type of business which is described in this review.
The review does not describe our property. We do not have any cabinets with glass (broken or otherwise) and have no furniture or furnishings with stains. Although our doors are kept locked for the safety and security of our guests, we NEVER collect a guest's credit card until they have had a property orientation and given keys to the house and their room.
We would be happy to address the described issue, but we have not had any experience of this magnitude and would never charge a customer's credit card for anything without their knowledge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this beautiful mansion. We had purchased a crowd-cut coupon and were somewhat apprehensive as our last experience at a B&B (with a crowd-cut coupon) had been a disaster. Well, we loved every minute of it. The Belle Cotton suite was beautiful. The mansion has been restored to the luxury of yesteryear. An added bonus was that all the other guests that stayed there were very pleasant breakfast companions. I can't wait to book another stay at the Cotton Mansion. I have recommended this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We spent two nights at The Cotton Mansion early in the summer season. The home is in a lovely, historic neighborhood and within a nice walking distance of Lake Superior. This common rooms are large and have a number of smaller areas to gather so you can enjoy the space without feeling like you're intruding on other guests. The architectural details make perusing the home a treat. We stayed in a quiet room at the back of the house. We especially enjoyed being able to have a real fire in our fireplace! The hosts were accommodating and informative. Breakfast was delicious. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this B&B twice - in the Terrace Suite both times. It's a wonderful place to get away! For being in a neighborhood, it's incredibly QUIET. You'll have no idea that you're in Duluth, and not far from downtown at all. The food is served as fine dining and Kim and Ken did a wonderful job accomodating our vegetarian diets. The food was amazing! The Terrace Suite is such a grand room, but we've never actually used the terrace as we've only stayed in the winter months. This B&B is a wonderful place to spend some quiet time together with your spouse. As with other B&B's, the hosts are available around meal time and are just a phone call away if you need anything throughout the day. I would love for there to be coffee and munchies available more often.

Room Tip: Terrace Suite is amazing!! Next time I go, I plan to stay in the Bell Cotton Suite or the Carriage H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotton Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Mansion

Address: 2309 East First Street, Duluth, MN 55812-1808
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier bed and breakfast inn, located in the heart of Duluth's Historic Mansion District, specializing in honeymoons, anniversaries and romantic retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cotton Mansion Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.