We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“down town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fond-du-Luth Casino

Fond-du-Luth Casino
129 East Superior St., Duluth, MN 55802-2127
800-873-0280, 218-722-0280
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #38 of 45 attractions in Duluth
Type: Casinos
Activities: Gambling
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Built between 1905-1908 to resemble a 17th-century country estate, Duluth's 39-room "American Castle" retains the majority of its original furnishings and art and, amazingly, closely resembles the way it looked when its owners, the Congdon family, first occupied it in 1908. Situated on a wooded lot, the mansion boasts spectacular views of Lake Superior.
Blaine, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“down town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

They have so-so in machines, you have to stay in the parking ramp next to the casino they do not pay -- you pay for parking.
This is a very small operation with the 2 floors of machines. They are growing but very slow.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    8
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smoky”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

When I open the door the smell was terrible very old looking. Turned around and walked out. Would not waste my time at this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Walked through and left”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I thought it might be fun to check out this casino as we've never been there before. It's in down town Duluth and there is a "pay" parking ramp that we had to use right next door to the casino. Of course, we ended up on the top floor and used the elevator to get down to ground level. While riding the cruddy looking elevator I saw signs saying: "No loitering or sleeping in stair wells" This should have been our first clue to turn and run. Well, we forged ahead and went to the main entrance of the casino. We opened the door and there sits a security guy talking with some one and were looking at where to go and all we see is "Use Other Door" What other door! Where do we go? We couldn't tell at all where to go and then he piped up and said "Right here" He pushed a button, I guess, and like Star Trek, the masked doors quickly slid open and we now could see the inside of the casino. We enter hoping to find a sit down restaurant inside. We saw nothing for eating but there is a second floor so lets go look upstairs and check it out. We walked our way through the stuffy and smoky air and rode the escalator upstairs but food wasn't going to happen. Hmmmm, as I look around I notice the casino cashier area and the walls behind are plastered with signs. "CHECK CASHING" "Cash Your Checks Here" and things like that. It reminded me of a pawn shop or Pay Day cash checking service for the less fortunate people. The way this place looked is not what we expected. This place didn't look very classy at all. It's not what one might expect when going to a casino. It seemed unclean or maybe run down? The atmosphere there didn't look fun. I'm not sure, all I know is that I didn't care for it. The other area casino's are way better looking and feel much more comfortable and classy than this one. We looked at each other and said "we're out of here" and we left. We didn't spend a dime there. We went outside to the parking ramp and got back into the cruddy elevator and don't worry, we didn't loiter, got to our car, drove down the ramp, paid our buck to the ramp attendant, and see Ya! Yes, it cost us a dollar to learn that this attraction is was a dud. We just didn't feel comfortable. They won't see us again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awful, go somewhere else.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's not very clean. It has a really shady crowd. Very small. I would never go here again, try other entertainment downtown or the casino south of town on I-35.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not that bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a small casino with hundreds of slots and few blackjack tables. They have a good mix of old slots and new. They are not as "tight" as Vegas strip casinos. You pay a dollar per hour to park in the connected ramp. The area is not as dangerous as other reviewers have said, it is in a downtown area and there are people all over. If you feel unsafe walking to your car, just ask casino security to walk you, they will be happy to help. It is smokey, that part is true. If you like to gamble and are in Duluth, it is worth a stop in.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fond-du-Luth Casino also viewed

 

Been to Fond-du-Luth Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fond-du-Luth Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.