We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added South Pier Inn on the Canal to your Saves list
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

A unique place to stay. Enjoyed visiting with the owners who are knowledgeable about the history of the island of Park Point, the lift bridge and off the beaten track places to see.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    67
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
37
171
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
twin cities
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

My husband and I have been going to the South Pier Inn for the last 3 years. We went on a tour when they were having an open house to see what they were like and have never stayed any place else since. The rooms are clean, worker' s are friendly, and the front desk staff is willing to help in way they can. The view from your room is fantastic. Standing on your private deck you get the greatest view of the large ships going in and out of the harbor. The front desk will even call you during the night when the ships go through if you ask them to. We never move our car from the time we get there until the time we leave. You can walk across the bridge for shopping, eating, walking on the boardwalk, and enjoying the sights of Duluth. Walking on the beach at sunrise or sunset is truly beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

This place should be shut down for the way they treated us.  We brought our 5 pound adorable Yorkie without reading the pet policy.  They charged us $100 for a pet violation policy and WOULD NOT let us stay in the hotel with our little dog.  So, they committed credit card fraud by charging our card $800 and not rendering services.  Their Mgr, Brandon, said we could pay $50 per night and still stay there.  Then, one of the Owners, Bonnie, said we would be charged and could not stay there!  We drove 3 hours to get to the hotel and had no idea that such a tiny dog would be an issue.  The room was far overpriced and not that nice to begin with and we were forced to stay at the Holiday Inn.  DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL.  THE HOTEL DESERVES TO GO OUT OF BUSINESS FOR SUCH UNETHICAL BUSINESS PRACTICES.  We never intended to violate a policy and it was an honest mistake.  They treated us so poorly and essentially conconcted a shameless way to make almost $1000 and not render services.  

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthPierInn, General Manager at South Pier Inn on the Canal, responded to this review, June 22, 2009
We love animals. Unfortunately, some of our guests are allergic to pet dander. If one of our guests stayed in a room that had had even a cute little Yorkie in it, they could have an adverse physical reaction that could ruin their stay with us.

We learned that there was a dog in this guest's room when another guest called and complained about a barking dog.

South Pier Inn certainly did not charge this guest for services not rendered. A friend of this guest who was staying at another Duluth hotel that is pet friendly exchanged hotel rooms with this guest and the problem was solved. This guest's friend told us he was very pleased with his stay at South Pier Inn.

We are sorry that this guest was upset; however, we need to look out for all of our guests. When we advertise a no-pet room, it would be unfair to put future guests at risk of an adverse reaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

The family owners of the South Pier Inn have thought of everything to make each visit a special memory. The Jacuzzi, cozy fireplace, contemporary decor, complimentary continental breakfast and helpful staff are amenities one does not find at every hotel or inn, no matter what the price. The views of the harbor , Aerial lift bridge and skyline of Duluth is "to die for." We enthusiastically recommend the South Pier Inn.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

I stayed at the South Pier Inn for several nights in May 2009 as I was in town to take delivery on a new Cirrus. I had read the reviews of this property, and given the reviews and picutures debated between this hotel and Fitgers. I booked this one, signing up for one of their nicest rooms (Panamora Suite). I stayed at the hotel three nights.

First, the positives. The hotel is clean, and is very convenient to the restaurants in Canal Park. Parking is easy, and the view of ships coming into the port is kind of cool. The tub in the living room is nice, though it does leak some from the faucet.

However, my room was a bit on the "tired" side. The arm chairs in the living room were close to falling apart, and the sleeper sofa had cusions that were worn to the point of not being comfortable to sit on (they kind of crunch into the metal frame where the sleeper sofa is). I also could not believe for the price of my room (over $200!) there was not at least a courtesy bottle of water in the room (though it did come with a coffee maker). I also was very unimpressed with the "continental breakfast"; it was composed of a small fridge with yogurt and canned juice, some pastries, and some fruit stacked on top of the pastry case. No cereal (I think they had dried oatmeal, but no cold cereals), no toaster, etc. Compared to the continental breakfasts I've had at other places - even like a Hampton Inn - this was sorry offering.

As I ended up staying in Duluth another night (unplanned - airplane maintenance!) I chose to stay at Fitgers, on which I'll do a seperate review. A much nicer place!

The South Pier may be ok, but I think with some of the new hotels in Canal Park and others in the Duluth area, I will elect to stay elsewhere next time as I think I can get much better value for my money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Every business traveler wants a nice place at a reasonable cost with lots of amenities. This hotel has complementary high speed internet, breakfast, etc like a lot of hotels. But what makes this one so special is the attention to detail from the staff and the excellent European styling and ambiance plus includes a gas fireplace, jacuzzi, multiple TV's, multiple phones, balcony, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, etc. The views of 1000' ocean going tankers & ships are worth twice the price of the room. They are right out your window. In the summer you might have 15 or more in a 24 hour period. The hotel even provides the times on incoming and out going vessels and will even give you a wake up call to see one of them if you ask. A simply great place to work and relax. Restaurants, shops, and museums within walking distance. I love this place when I'm in town on business. I wouldn't stay any other place even if it was free.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

My husband and I stay in a "nice" place each year over the Columbus Day holiday. It is our way of saying goodbye to the North Shore for the season (we stay closer to home during the winter).

What a wonderful place! We new it would be great just for the proximity to the Aerial Lift Bridge and the shipping canal (we are real boat watchers). It certainly did not disappoint! The hotel will even call you in the middle of the night if you request a "bridge call", so you can pop out of bed, run to the window, and watch the excitement of a ship entering or leaving the harbor.

The panoramic suite is pricey ($269), but worth every penny. It was large and had lots of amenities (gas fireplace, 2-person jacuzzi, fridge, microwave, bar sink, thirsty terry robes and towels, etc.) The staff was helpful and friendly.

The place was romantic, a great location, comfortable. We will definitely go again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed - only average - should have been Sleepnumber or Tempurpedic
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#5 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Address: 701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Pier Inn on the Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.