We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added South Pier Inn on the Canal to your Saves list
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Ndangane, Senegal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

So many great things about this boutique-type hotel. First, the architectural style and the setting are so picturesque. Great location...removed from the touristy area by the canal and bridge but close enough to walk. The peolpe that worked there were so very nice and eager to help. I did not have a bridge or harbor view but could see the lake from my balcony window. They have a complimentary breakfast and items are available all day. The rooms were nice, clean, and had everything you could need...coffee pot and coffee, hair dryer, mini fridge, iron and board, etc. I would stay here over the overpriced, bigger hotels right on the lake.

Room Tip: If you want the great view you need to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    60
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
146
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

First let me say two things: 1) I rarely write reviews of places, and 2) I would stay at the South Pier Inn again in a heartbeat! I booked a Harbor View Room for 3 nights. The room had an OUTSTANDING view, tons of windows, a LARGE bathroom, a shower, a jacuzzi, a fireplace and a refrigeratori! Each harbor side room also have a small but private balcony that allow you to sit outside enjoying the beautiful views. So Awesome! The room and hotel were also very clean. I also appreciated the fact that they allowed the guest to have towels and linens changed daily or not (I opted not to have them changed during my stay). The staff was warm and friendly and accommodating. The entire experience allowed me to have a wonderful change of scenery and a very relaxing stay. LOVE the South Pier Inn!!

Room Tip: I would ask for a harbor view or channel view room if you want a view other than the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We decided to go to Duluth to watch the 4th of July fireworks. This hotel was recommended to us by a friend and we liked it so much we have reserved a room for the same time next year.

Its a small hotel, very nice. Rooms are bright and clean with big windows and a small balcony. Liked the private entrance for each set of 3 rooms and it was right on the canal. Great place to walk and see the ships coming out of the canal. We walked most of the day on the 4th and took a quick nap before the fireworks. The owners have a nice flower a few houses down and we got some lovely shots of the flowers.

The breakfast was good, staff was friendly. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a water view room if you can but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just came back from an awesome stay at South Pier Inn. You can walk to everything that downtown Duluth has to offer and enjoy a long walk down the beach. Watching the ships pass by your room is a unique experience. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I love Duluth, and this hotel is perfect. I would definitely go back. Like another reviewer said - great views, luxurious rooms and fantastic location - close proximity to Canal Park but great seclusion.

Pros:
*Close to all the action but also secluded.
*Limited rooms so private feel
*Free continental breakfast including delicious coffee
*Luxurious rooms and hot tub
*Awesome views and nice balcony
*Fluffy robes

Con
*Harbor view is not nearly as exciting as a bridge view and no view of Lake Superior (Room 701 has a harbor view)

Room Tip: Get a bridge view room - the harbor view is a little boring. If you get Room 601, you should be abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. paul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just came back from a long weekend trip for my birthday with my husband. Went back and forth between hotels before settling on South Pier Inn. Check-in girl was aloof and uninterested. Room was clean and comfortable with amazing views and great location. Some updating in the bathroom was needed (fan and sink had loud shrieking sound). Only really bad thing was the cleaning of the room. We used the jacuzzi tub one night and I was irritated it wasn't cleaned the next day. It deterred me from using for the rest of our stay. Really, the only "cleaning" that was done was restocking towels and making the bed. Hotel needs work in this area. Otherwise good stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leclaire, Ia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel has great views, luxurious rooms, and a perfect location just close enough to Canal Park but far enough away for some seclusion. The location just great, plus there are a limited number of rooms so it had a private feeling other larger hotels nearby do not. Staff were courteous and accommodating. We'll be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Address: 701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#15 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Pier Inn on the Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.