We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picky (HSP) reviewer says...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Save Saved
You added South Pier Inn on the Canal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Pier Inn on the Canal
701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
2013 Property of the Year
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Picky (HSP) reviewer says...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a review from the HSP (highly sensitive person, google Elaine Aron's work if you don't know it.) point of view:

Room was relaxing and simple in it's arrangement, which was up a flight of stairs. Peaceful setting with the fireplace. The place was clean and well tended. Sheets were soft and fragrance free. No smelly cleaners were in the air. Sadly, I am super allergic to dogs and cats so I very much appreciate knowing they do not stay in these rooms.

Canal side room has an unparallelled view of the bridge and the canal. Keep in mind that is not such a big thing if no ships pass by; then it's just a view of a channel. One of the only thoughtful marks of my interaction with the front desk staff was getting help reading the ship schedule that they had printed and handy. There were about 3 ships a day while we were there, none of which we were around to see unfortunately. If I stay here again, I will plan my time to be able to see at least one ship move through the canal and right past the Inn.

Also, at least half of the rooms face in the direction of the canal and bridge which is noisy. Cars make a distinctive noise as they cross it and if you are sound sensitive you WILL notice this. Do not know if it is as audible on the "neighborhood side." BTW-that means you look at the parking lot.

Breakfast had a range of low sugar carbs, no higher protein foods. Coffee, tea and juice options offered too.

If you need/want darkness to sleep, bring a sleep mask if you are in a canal/bridge facing room. The waterfront is rather lit up and the vertical blinds do not keep out the light.

Just across the street is public access to walk the beach of Park Point which is fantastic in all seasons. The ice shelves in the winter are pretty amazing to see. Of course Canal Park is
just over the bridge going the other direction. Another friend got a room right in Canal Park 30% less than the rate here, so it is work checking around. Either way, at the Inn we parked the car and didn't use it at much during our stay because we
and could easily walk to a lot of great spots.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    55
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
137
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Beautiful suite and very clean. The suite has a panoramic view and a nice balcony. South Pier is next to the Canal Bridge and it's an awesome sight at night. If you're lucky you might see the bridge rise and a ship pass through it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I see that a couple is angry for the Dog thing that happened, but like they said themselves they did not read the rules of the Place and thus needed to adhire to the rules or go elsewhere, they made the choice to stay ad pay then asked for things to come back afterwards. Each time they made a decision it was up to them, they seem to write in discust weather by accident or thinking they would just sneak the dog in there are many , many more dof owners that did read the rules and leave their dogs away. The Vies are great, the Boats are some of the largest in the oceans and its the experience of a lifetime each time you see this historical city, view of the largrest Clean drinking water lake in the world, the most frsh drinking water in 1 place is the lake superior water. The Lift bridge is a historical site to see, I remember decades ago when you could go up on the bridge we did when I as small back in the 1970's and took the small boat tour in the harbor also. Can remember all it like it was yesterday. A lot of people sign up to be at these places to stay especially when they have 2 large 4th of july sites in and near the bay, its awesome and the August biker Jazz Fest in Early august is one of the best around, Duluth is quite the coty and it will remind you very mush of san Francisco with its brick streets and high roads like san fran in the edge of this Mn Mountain just on the south side with some of the best skiing you can have , may Olympic skiers have been on these Mountain runs for practice to make the Olympics and the train buffs and even surfers in the Summertime from all over the world surf the lake in June about 20 miles up from Duluth, the historic valus are endless and the feeling around Duluth is something you don't forget anytime soon, Many Olympic and world class events sports are held there The Curling champion chips are up there again this year in their curling arena the history behind the trains of travel and those used in the minning days some you can rent small cars for your own ride up near two harbors and ride back to Duluth. Your missing out in wintertime from things you can photograph that you will never see anywhere else in the world. and you also if camping in and near fuluth you need to know your in far northern MN and its very woodsy and there are bears and animals that like to be around once ina while if camping, so always be aware of this most places have cabins from trees huge that were buildt from that area. Enjoy your positive experience, enjoy the ships coming and going from this hotel your the closest one to the entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a three night, midweek getaway at South Pier Inn. We booked a deluxe waterfront king (702, top floor): three room suite (living room, bedroom, bath), with a stunning, multi-window view of Duluth Harbor. Microwave, fridge, whirlpool, shower, tv’s in living room and bedroom, and gas fireplace.
Clean as a whistle, tastefully decorated. Wicked fast wi-fi.
There’s enough to browse in Canal Park (a short walk across the lift bridge), that we didn’t get much farther afield in the city. A few Canal Park stops we enjoyed:
The Northern Waters Smokehaus in the Dewitt Seitz Marketplace makes signature sandwiches to die for.
The Canal Park Brewing Company is a great stop for a local craft beer.
The shops up and down Canal Park were such a nice mix of speciality, galleries, camping, candy, decorating, dining, and antiques that one of us was always lost in a browsing haze.

The Inn offers a good mix of beverages and pastries in the morning, but we were enticed away to the Duluth Grill for breakfasts. Went there once based on it’s reputation and wound up going back every morning.
Our last night we ordered gourmet pizza from Vitta Pizza in Canal Park (highly recommend!), uncorked a bottle of wine, turned on the fireplace, and enjoyed the twinkling lights on the harbor.
The staff was uniformly terrific. A special shout-out to Brandon who met every request with humor, efficiency, and class.
The South Pier Inn is where we’ll stay in Duluth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first time at the South Pier iNN and it won't be our last. We were right on water ,in a huge living room with a fireplace and big Jacuzzi tub. Our bedroom was nicely done with great bedding and pillows. We were a one minute walk to the arial lift bridge and then another 3 minutes to all the shops and restaurants. We were so close and yet so far from the busyness of the commercial district. This will be our hotel of choice when we visit Duluth!

Room Tip: i can't imagine that there would be a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel took me by surprise. It was wonderful! The location couldn't be better -- right next to the lake -- within easy walking distance to the popular restaurants and shops.

When I first walked in -- I thought -- how can the hot tub be next to the window?. It is 40 degrees out and windy, surely it is going to be drafty and cold. But no! They use special windows that block noise and leaking air (they said the windows were the same kind that they use near airports to block sound). There was an easy to use fireplace that you turn on and off with a light switch. A balcony that you could sit outside and watch the bridge and ships. In room coffeemaker, and refrigerator too.

Also, I am a clean and smell "freak" I have moved hotels and rooms more than once because rooms have smelled -- this room was fantastic! No odor whatsoever and SUPER clean. This property definitely gets an A+

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is our favorite place to stay in Duluth. Both my husband and myself are a big fan of watching the ships go through canal so this is the best location in the city. We also enjoy being able to walk to shops and restaurants in canal park. We usually stay in a waterfront suite however this being a "special event weekend" it was over our budget. We did stay in a balcony guest room. Excellent service as always from the staff. The weather permitted us to go outside to watch the ships go through canal. If you are on a budget the balcony guest room is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Address: 701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#14 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Pier Inn on the Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.