We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fall getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added South Pier Inn on the Canal to your Saves list
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Nisswa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great fall getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed at a number of Canal Park hotels and this is by far the best. Suggest the second floor Canal facing suites but anything on the water is great. Clean rooms, friendly staff and super close to the bridge and the restaurants. Be sure to check out the ship schedule since they pass right in front of the rooms..awsome. Lots of little details not found in big chains like binoculars makeup mirrors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    57
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
143
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here in early august. we had a room on the 2nd floor with the water view. it was incredible. the room had a fireplace, hot tub, walk out balcony, and large windows overlooking the water. all nice furniture, very clean room. we will stay here again. also a short walk to the canal park area

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were looking for a hotel by Canal Park and were surprised to find most were filled mid week. Based on the review on trip advisor we booked a room here. The hotel is located right after you cross the lift bridge so it is within walking distance to the Canal Park area and the price was less than some of the rooms left in other hotels.

Nice room, clean and comfortable bed. There is a desk, fridge and microwave in the room. The other sitting area was large, but were cushions on a built out area so it wasn't really comfortable to lay back or lounge in.

Breakfast was a typical continental with yogurt, bananas, apples and oranges. Coffee, juice and danish or toast. They did keep stocking it but the eating area is very small.

We liked our upper floor room and didn't mind the balcony overlooking the parking lot as it was quiet. We would have liked the lakeview but wonder if it wouldn't be noisier since it is really only 20 feet from the water and bridge. We would stay here again but would try the lakeside next time.

Room Tip: Neighborhood view really means parking lot. Upper rooms are up a flight of steps so they are not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We wished we'd had more than one night to stay here, but we just didn't have the time. We were passing through on our way home from a 26-day trip. We reserved our room the night before, so the only option was a room overlooking the parking lot/street with a limited view of the bridge. I imagine the rooms on the other side had beautiful views! This inn is in a perfect location, just across the bridge from the hubbub of Duluth's harborfront. The room itself was very comfortable with a large bed and bath, a corner love seat, desk, TV, closet and coat hooks. A hot/cold breakfast was provided, as well. We loved it! It was a very easy walk across the bridge to all the activities and restaurants you need for a great weekend retreat. If we ever get the opportunity, we will visit here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here and I was pretty impressed. I snagged a good deal off trip advisor and we were only looking to stay one night so I just wanted a lower priced hotel in or walking distance to canal park.

The location of this hotel is perfect! It's just over the lift bridge from canal park. It's a quick easy walk to canal park dining and shopping and since we were staing in the hotel, we didn't have to pay for parking.

If you are looking for a water view be sure to call or double check that you are on the canal or harbor. Our room ended up facing the parking lot. I figured since it was so much cheaper that was the case. And the parking lot is not terrible but it would have been nice to have been able to watch the ships go by the room.

The room is very clean with newer modern furniture. The room is very bright and comfortable. Our room included a coffee maker and small fridge. We also had a nice balcony.

I'd definitely recommend this place for anyone looking to stay near the canal park area or right on the water!

I'd definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking tosta

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

From the minute you drive in, get out and walk into the lobby area you are very impressed. After a horrible night in another hotel in Duluth we were so relieved to find this little gem in the Duluth/Canal Park area. Our room was comfortable large with a balcony. The bathroom was large and spotless and I love the soaps they use.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the South Pier Inn and it felt like coming home. We had stayed here for many years with our teenage son and all of us loved seeing the large ships come by right outside our window. We hadn't been back in 4 years and it did feel like coming home. Be sure to ask for a canal view room so you get to see the ships from your room. Be prepared for the warning bells from the lift bridge which has to be raised to accomodate the ships coming in or out of Lake Superior. We find the noise part of the charm. It's romantic to wake up at 3:00 AM to see a giant ship go right by your window as you lie in bed. It was quite foggy when we went to sleep and I got quite a picture of the bridge in the fog.

Our suite/room had a refrigerator, whirlpool, fireplace and binoculars to see the ships better! It was very clean with a small balcony. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 rating is that the air conditioning was not working very well and we had 95 degree weather! We told the front desk about it the next morning when we checked out and the woman was most apologetic and said she would get someone to look at it. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a canal view room if you want to see the ships up close and personal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Address: 701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#15 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Pier Inn on the Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;