We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place to stay in Duluth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added South Pier Inn on the Canal to your Saves list
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful place to stay in Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great boutique hotel! CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN! Great views of the harbor and canal. Wonderful amenities (fireplace, hot tub, frig and microwave). Some suites with desks for business travelers. Easy access to main floor rooms - no steps. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    62
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
158
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
usa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is in the heart of Canal Park Duluth and is within walking distances to all of canal park and down town Duluth. It is kept very clean and comfortable. Lots of restaurants and shopping as well as a nice boardwalk along Lake Superior

Room Tip: No pool or fitness room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I started staying at the South Pier Inn not long after they opened and always try to stay for our Anniversary there whenever we are in Duluth. The rooms are great and you can't beat the views of Duluth. I try to watch the ships going through the canal when the Lift Bridge opens and have seen many of the largest boats on the Great lakes here. It's within walking and biking distance from all the Canal Park attractions and restaurants making it PERFECT! We will always keep coming back! :-)

Room Tip: They are all good but the Harbor View rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the South Pier Inn for two days, August 21 and 22nd in the panoramic room (602). One of the nicest rooms I've stayed in in quite a while with a great view of the lift bridge and the Great Lake freighters. The lift bridge is a mavel in engineering and I can't begin to tell you how many photographs of the bridge I took. The bed was nice, the continental breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly. We met the owner outside in the morning and she was very friendly and helpful. I booked this in advance before the shipping was reduced so the ships were scattered and mostly in the early morning hours but I managed to see them all. I do not write many reviews but this hotel deserves a great rating and if possible, put this on your list to visit. Since I go to Orr Minnesota every year from Ohio, I now have a place to return to in the future. Thanks.

Room Tip: The panoramic rooms offer great views of the harbor and the chanel. The second floor offered great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The lady at the front desk was very welcoming and nice. We stayed in a room that looked out towards the parking lot. It has a nice small deck to walk out on. The room was clean and well maintained. Nice location to walk to many different restaurants and shopping. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Awesome view of the ships coming and going from the lake. Loved the brightness of the room. The duck made from two wash clothes was adorable. room carpet was dirty, but not terribly disturbing. Right next to the lift bridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, WI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at South Pier Inn on July 30-31, 2013. We were looking for a nice couples getaway location close to Canal Park where we could just park and walk to most locations we wanted to enjoy. This was just the ticket for us. We loved the views of the bridge from the balcony and the room itself. We loved the quick walk to dinner and other sites in Canal Park and only left once to go hiking at Gooseberry Falls and a few other spots up the shoreline. We had breakfast out both mornings, so I can't comment on the morning fare offered in the lobby. The receptionist was very helpful with a location question we had and other staff we encountered were all very friendly. We had a balcony room overlooking the canal and really didn't hear the horns and whistles of the bridge and boats, which can be very loud, during our stay. The room was pretty quiet. We loved the jacuzzi and size of the room as well. The mini fridge was handy for keeping water cold for our walks.

Room Tip: If there are two of you and you like boat watching, pick a balcony room on the canal side. Within wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Address: 701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Pier Inn on the Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.