We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added South Pier Inn on the Canal to your Saves list
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely the BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I went there for a weekend get away and it was AWESOME!! We went up to Duluth during the winter to see Bentlyville (the christmas light show) which was breath taking. Our room was so clean and wonderful, loved the spa tub in the room as well. We had a room on the second floor facing the canal and loved watching the ships come in and out. We were greeted with a friendly face at the front desk that gave us recommendations for activities and had hot apple cider and gingerbread cookies for us. :)

It was slightly spendy for us (Although we are recent college grads so everything is spendy for us) but the price of the rooms will NOT prevent us from returning. We talk about it all the time and tell all of our friends about it as well.

It was wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    61
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
154
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the South Pier Inn for our anniversary. We loved our second floor room, with a harbor view. Unfortunately for us, it was quite foggy, so we didn't get to enjoy the amazing scenery, but on a clear day it would be spectacular. The large windows, comfortable bed, 2 person jacuzzi tub and separate bathroom are all reasons we would love to stay here again sometime.
We loved how close the hotel was to Canal park and other attractions. Just a short walk (or car ride) away. My only negatives: the pillows were not that cozy to me, the soundproofing on the walls could be better and the continental breakfast left something to be desired, but overall we enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I had driven by this place once before and thought it was condos, until I read about it on trip advisor:), and have been in Duluth for work a few times the past 2 weeks and thought inwould check it out and this is now my favorite spot in town!. This is a great location, just a quick walk/drive across the draw bridge from canal park and a great spot right on the water in a residential neighnorhood. This hotel is only 2 floors and I really enjoyed the cozy and quaintness which you don't get from larger hotels as well as more quiet and private feel. Rooms are clean, imclude fridge, nice size bathroom, free Wifi and All main floor rooms are walk out and upper levels rooms enter through a door to the upstairs(no indoor hallway). I stayed on the main floor as well as upper, the upper is normally a bit more(though they offered me free upgrade weekday rate:)) and the upper floors rooms have a bit nicer decor and and also have private deck/balcony. Both times were parking lot view, which was the better budget choice but the other side is water view both walk out/ and upper with balcony, which would be my choice if going with partner or family( watching ships pass)

Room Tip: Depending on your budget, the upper level rooms are a bit nicer decor and include private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I wanted to stay someplace we had never stayed for his 'special Birthday' in May. We stayed here and had a suite on the second floor overlooking the harbor. Our room was breathtaking. We loved the large windows and private balcony to watch the ships coming in and going out. The hotel will even call your room during the night if you request to announce ship traffic if you don't want to miss anything. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The sunset was beautiful. Breakfast was fine for us with coffee, juice, fresh bakery pastries and yogurt. We would stay here anytime. Week nights are cheaper than weekends.

Room Tip: I would prefer the second floor with either bridge or harbor view. There are some rooms that just ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We usually stay elsewhere in Duluth, but other places had a 2 night minimum over the weekend, and this place did not. The room was a little small, but that was okay, we spent most of our time outside. Bed was comfy, nice TV, mini fridge, and everything was clean. Basic continental breakfast, but it was good. Food and drink was also available when we checked in. Breakfast area faced the lift bridge, we watched a ship go through while we had breakfast. The doors to the rooms go directly outside, with parking next to your door. Good value for the money. We paid $118 (including tax) for a saturday night. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: In winter, get a room close to office. Shorter walk in the cold for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a one room suite with a view of the harbour, our recommendation. Great big windows, jacuzzi tub, shower, desk and everything you could want. Breakfast was OK. One small upgrade would be for down pillows. Just saying. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a gem of a place to stay when visiting Duluth MN, situated at the foot of the aerial lift bridge with awesome views of ships as they go by! High quality rooms with whirlpool and fireplace, very clean. OUTSTANDING staff from start to finish, including the general manager. I would definitely recommend South Pier Inn for a memorable romantic getaway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Address: 701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Pier Inn on the Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.