We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added South Pier Inn on the Canal to your Saves list
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Willmar, MN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Incredible Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Have been to Duluth area several times and always stay in Canal Park. Decided to try the "other side of the bridge" this time! AWESOME stay! Make sure you get a canal side or harbor view room. Clean, lots of extras, could have spent our entire visit just hanging out at the hotel! Is expensive but well worth the extra dollars! Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Corner room with panoramic view the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    61
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
154
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niwot, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed a total of three nights - one night with a view of the parking lot, two with a view of the bridge and canal. Spend the few extra dollars for the good view and you'll be glad you did! The rooms are very light and airy, clean and modern, but what takes the experience over the top is watching the comings and goings of the ships and the incredible aerial lift bridge... it was very compelling. The breakfast was so-so, the only weak link in my opinion, but not a deal breaker. We had an issue with the air conditioning, and the manager fixed it instantly - thumbs up on the service. The location is excellent, in walking distance to plenty of restaurants and shops. If we ever go back to Duluth, the South Pier Inn is where we'll be, you betcha.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Not only is the canal view spectacular, but the room is so nice, it's hard to leave! With much to see and do in the area, the room was so comfortable I would have been happy just to stay there watching ships and relaxing. The bed was very comfortable, the low (TV) chair relaxing and the jacuzzi a nice plus. The bathroom was plenty big and had a small refrigerator. Nice little balcony to sit on and watch the ships coming through the canal and also a good continental breakfast. I look forward to returning for another vacation!

Room Tip: It's hard to decide whether to have a canal view room or harbor view room. There's a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Close to good local and national restruarnts. I did lots of ship watching as they entered+left the harbor. The hotel has a listing of when they will arive.Room was very clean, good TV, fridge and Free WI FI. Frount desk personel we always very helpful ;and had a lot of local info. So close you can just walk 50 yards and you can see the large ships arrive and leave..Always had lots of free coffee available in the lobby. Overall we were very pleased with South Pier Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This inn was very comfortable, and in a great location on the canal in Duluth. We were able to watch the huge frieghter ships loaded with iron ore or taconite coming into Lake Superior from the Great Lakes. There is a giant lift bridge right there so when a ship comes in or goes out, the horn blows to alert traffic, and the bridge goes up over 100' to allow the ship's passage and it's a real treat to watch it pass. Those ships are so long and tall and big, they dwarf the inn. The people who run it are exceptionally friendly and you can walk to great restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room on the canal side to watch the ships, on the other side to avoid the ships' horns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knife River, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel is amazing. It sits just far enough from the others to be quiet, unique and special. The walk to Canal Park and the Lakewalk is minutes away. The staff is friendly, helpful, and the rooms are very clean. There are so many restaurants to choose from. We liked Grandma's and Lake Avenue. We will be back again

Room Tip: Pick a room by the bridge/bay side so you can see the Ore boats go in and out. It is like you can r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Location, location, location was fabulous. Our deck was only 75 yards from the lift bridge. That is what makes this hotel worth the money. Room was a little tired, but clean. For the price they could update a few things like the linens, grout in the bathroom tile and clean the spots in the carpet. Our room had two chairs but they did not match so it made me feel like it was not a "boutique" hotel but a run of the mill hotel. Just a few details would make the difference. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the fact that we could walk to restaurants and the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Address: 701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Pier Inn on the Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.