We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hotel in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added South Pier Inn on the Canal to your Saves list
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here November 25-27, 2011 during a weekend getaway to the Twin Ports. We were greeted by friendly desk staff, provided with a clean, comfortable room, and locally baked snacks available anytime. We had a canal view room located right at the base of the Arrowhead Bridge in Duluth, and were treated to ships passing through the canal and under the bridge not 100' from our balcony. The room was large (1 bedroom suite) and clean, and after and evening in the cool night air, it was great to come back at night and sip some wine while enjoying a soak in the 2 person jet tub in front of the fireplace.

The breakfast included with the room consisted of fresh baking from a local bakery, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, and coffee. It was very nice, and my only issue with it was the lack of a protein option such as peanut butter or boiled eggs.

All things considered, we had a very relaxing weekend here and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We liked the canal view room as it provided an excellent view of the lift bridge and the Duluth wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    57
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
143
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Bear
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My husband and I have stayed herer at least twice per year ever since it opened. We generally go off-season, on a Sunday night, so we get a good rate. Coupons are usually available for around $109 for the one-room waterfront suite, which has a hot tub and fireplace and unbelievable views of the city and canal or harbor.

The "suites" are on the smaller side and sparsely furnished, but clean and quiet - we love it.

We stayed there a few days ago, and to our surpirise, the Christmas light display across the harbor was all lit up for a trial run. It's called Bentleyville and we couldn't believe how cool it was. The photo that I took from the balcony isn't very clear, as I used my phone to snap it, but it was living the life to lie back in the bubbling whirlpool and look at Lake Superior and the fun holiday lights.

Room Tip: Just don't get the balcony guest room. Cheaper but no view. Why stay here if not for the view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Sueur, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We love staying at this hotel when we are in Duluth. We have brought many friends here and they can talk about nothing else. We love being able to see the big boats up close and personal 24/7. You can't get a better view of the big boats at any other hotel in Duluth. Hotel is very comfortable, clean and they have great coffee.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Loved our one-room waterfront suite in this unique location! Being right at the foot of Duluth's landmark Aerial Lift Bridge, and only steps away for the Maritime Visitors Center and Canal Park restaurants and shopping, made this perfect location for our two-night stay. We actually were able to watch ships going through the canal from the comfort of our whirlpool bath. Breakfast was typical donuts, sweet rolls and muffins, and the coffee was good enough that we bought some to take home with us. It's also nice to have DVDs available to enjoy in the room in case the shipping traffic, fireplace and whirlpool aren't enough to keep you entertained!

Room Tip: The canal-side rooms that offer ring-side seats for watching shipping traffic moving into Duluth Har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We were lucky to find this Inn by chance on the internet, and it could only have been better if we could have stayed longer. The view from the canal-side rooms is spectacular, the staff is wonderful, fabulous coffee in the lobby, rooms are very clean and comfortable, and we loved our stay. We want to come again! The lift bridge is a work of art, and the ship watching is the best anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway and were very pleased with our selection. The inn is on the other side of the bridge from canal park, making it accessible to all of the canal park attractions with a short walk. It is a smaller hotel, which we appreciated more than some of the larger places that are on the other side of the bridge. Rooms are clean, and well laid out. The one downer for us was how bright the rooms are are night. They have vertical blinds, but no curtains to block out the rest of the light. The white rooms, white verticals, and bright parking lot lights gave us a bit of trouble sleeping. Some simple blackout curtains would have made it a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South suburbs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here twice-very nice experience! Walking distance to the galleries and restaurants of Canal Park vicinity, and even walkable to downtown Duluth. THE place to stay to watch the big ships!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Address: 701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#15 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Pier Inn on the Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.