We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only place I'll ever stay in duluth! Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added South Pier Inn on the Canal to your Saves list
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Brookings
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the only place I'll ever stay in duluth! Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 2 days. I loved that we could stand on our oun balcony and watch ships come and go. Yet when the door was shut the room was surprisingly quiet. Bridge and ships both blow thier horns when they pass under. We couldn't hear any of that with the door shut. We kept it open so we didn't miss a thing. I give the South Pier Inn the highest rating, absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: Canal view is incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    61
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
154
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Recently went on a trip and this was the most expensive hotel we stayed at... which meant that we thought it would be just phenomenal. Was extremely disappointed, however. Smallest suite I've ever stayed in- and the suite didn't even have a little table so that you could write or play games- had to use the coffee table for that. Furniture wasn't comfortable, there was no pool or exercise equipment and the continental breakfast was very small and had limited choices. Really, the whole hotel had the feel of a motel, and that isn't a compliment when you're paying such inflated prices. Parking lot was even tiny and difficult to maneuver in. Felt extremely dissppointed the whole time we were there, but didn't think we'd find much else at such short notice. Yes, the view was nice- but it seems to me that you're really only paying for the view. If you think that a view is worth 200+ dollars for a small suite- then go for it- otherwise you can do better. Also, not kid friendly at all, so if you have children stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The south pier inn has beautiful views of the harbor. I could have sat looking all day. That is their selling point. When they built this hotel they skimped on furnishings. Nothing is really comfortable=the couch, chairs, the bed. The TVs are outdated. No fitness center. The decor is blah. Nice little balcony. Convenient location Is it worth the money? No, even with the view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnes City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

My husband and I found this motel by accident six years ago when all the other canal locations were full. It was the best thing to happen and we have been coming back for my husbands birthday ever since. We feel that the staff and owners really care about us as individuals not just paying guests. The morning clerk, Jamie always takes care of everything we need and with the owner, Betty, advise us of places to see and where to eat. The mornings always start off with coffee, rolls, and fruit with both Jamie and Betty to visit with. They helped us formulate a business plan when we were just thinking of going into the popcorn business. It is now a real business and we have them to thank for their advise. The view couldn't be better if you want to watch the boats come through the canal. We rented the corner room this year to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday and our kids and their families stayed in the motel also. Jamie and Betty decorated the room with a banner and balloons just for us. How many places would go that extra mile for a customer? The location seems more restful than the other motels across the bridge. That's why we keep coming back year after year, for the view,the boats,and the people there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

There are lots of nice hotels on Duluth's lakefront but the South Pier Inn is our new favorite.
Checking in was pleasant and our room was very well appointed. Panoramic view of the harbor with complimentary binoculars, this hotel has forgotten very little. Spacious bathroom, modern electronics with hassle-free WiFi. Short walking distance to the lakefront and plenty of quaint restaurants and bistros nearby. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

When you walk in you are immediately welcomed with a clean and bright room/s, with the best view of the canal. It is peaceful and relaxing, with great restaurants, and bars just down the road. Relax either on the private deck or in your hot tub. Watch the ships go by...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I had passed there in a tug boat some years before and knew if I had the chance I would stay there. The location is wonderful especially for boat watchers. I was there in February so boat watching was kind of slow but I can imagine what it is like in the navigation season. The entire facility was immaculate, the staff courteous and the view from the whirlpool bath in the living room looking out into the harbor with the fireplace on the side, just wonderful. It is an easy walk across the lift bridge to several restaurants. The continental breakfast was good with fresh pastries, fruit and cereal, hot and cold. The visit was topped by an enjoyable visit with the owner and a neighbor over coffee. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: The view from the harbor side is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Address: 701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Pier Inn on the Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.