We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable tour - fascinating house - worth the price of admission” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate

Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate
3300 London Road, Duluth, MN 55804
+1 218-726-8910
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 81 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Finished in 1908, this Lake Superior 39-room mansion enjoys a rare, intact collection of original furnishings and art. Because of that, it closely resembles the days when the Congdon family first occupied it. Truly, it is Duluth's answer to Downton Abbey. Situated on a wooded lot, the home boasts spectacular views of Lake Superior, as well as, multiple gardens including formal, flower and vegetable. Guests are also encouraged to explore the carriage house, boat house, stone bridge and pier. Children enjoy the pebbled beach for hours of rock skipping while parents take in a sit on one of Adirondack chairs. Be sure to check out Glensheen as part of your must-do Duluth bucket list.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable tour - fascinating house - worth the price of admission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This tour is one of those things we never would've spent money on unless I'd read the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. Everyone was right! This home is amazing to see and worth the cost of admission. We had a wonderful tour guide who had answers to every single question anyone asked about the house. The intricacies and technology used in 1908 just blew our minds. The setting itself is gorgeous and we had a beautiful fall day to walk around the grounds.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    100
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Autumn tour of the Glensheen mansion-Duluth, MN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was my 3rd visit to Glensheen over a period of 15 years. Never tire of it. Tour guide was knowledgeable and we toured at a nice pace.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Love that it's original interior...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was really a cool place. It was beautiful. The guide was super nice. The home had a LOT of the original interior and home furnishings which is something you don't see a lot of nowdays. If we lived closer we would go back and take advantage of the seasonal features. We would have loved to try the flashlight tour at the end of October.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finlayson, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The history of this area -- as well as the house and the Congdon family -- was worth the price of admission.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful old Estate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had visited Glensheen 20 years ago, and stopped by last month to get reacquainted. We took the extended tour ($26) which adds the 3rd floor (boys rooms) and the attic to the standard tour. Our Saturday afternoon tour only had 4 people, yet the house and grounds were bustling with an impending wedding. Mr. Congdon spared no expense in building this mansion, & I can't imagine what it must have been like to live in a "modern castle" over 100 years ago. Grounds are very nice- tour a tad expensive for what you see in my opinion.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate also viewed

 

Been to Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.