We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Save
You added Voyageur Lakewalk Inn to your Saves list
Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

I've stayed here in the past and I can't believe that people are saying what they are saying about this roach infested, murder-inn! There has been more than one murder committed on this property not to mention the police situations that go on in this area and hotel all of the time!!!

The beds are two box springs piled on top of one another. No fitted sheets, just flats tucked in haphazardly - stained mattresses (box springs). This is a dirty hotel, shady management/ownership and a very unsafe area.

This hotel is known (I used to live in Duluth) as a prostitution hang out and drug exchange area.

The only way I can see the previous reviews ever being typed is if they were from the people who own it or manage it trying to build some kind of good reputation. If you've ever seen the outside of the place (even driving by) you wouldn't let your worst enemy stay there. If you knew how horrid of a history this motel has, you'd never stay here - even if for free!

This is a skanky, nasty, dangerous, dirty, and overpriced "no-tell-motel"!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    21
    7
    12
See reviews for
7
39
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurley, WI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little worried about the rooms and the area. There was nothing to worry about. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, and the view was great! We are going to stay again in 2 weeks.

  • Liked — area
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

I was somewhat concerned about staying here because of the very reasonable prices and the reviews of the hotel I read on this website. All of my concerns were totally unfounded as I thought the motel was a tremendous value for the money. The room exceeded my expectations; clean, decent beds, comfortable and very quiet because the walls are concrete block. The ownership has recently done some nice landscaping. The location is excellent and the area is not seedy, it's Duluth! Duluth is an older town hit hard by economic forces that have produced the rustbelt, so there are going to be some older buildings. But if you want to hang out in trendy surroundings, walk a block to the Fitgers complex where the accomodations are at least four times more expensive. Free wi-fi was another bonus I was not expecting. It's somewhat odd that the deck is probably the best feature of the place, but it does offer a great view of the lake and the Canal Park area. In conclusion, it's not the Ritz, but for the money and the time of year (4th of July week) I had no complaints, even with construction of what is sure to be an overpriced Sheraton going on adjacent to the property.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2005

I stayed here right before the fall colors came through. The hotel has a good location and you are able to see the lake and ships from the deck. Its a older building that needs some improvements. The rooms were clean and avg sized. Updates that would be nice are A/C units, TV's, updated beds/linens. Bathroom was clean but outdated with old small tiles. Location made up for most small inconviences as we were not in the room very much. Price in 2003 was very good. Less expensive than rooms right on the canal but still provided a view and was within walking distance. You can hear the loud fog horns as ships enter the harbor. If you start out on a walk you will reach the lift bridge about the same time as the ship. I would stay here again if the $$ continues to be significanly less than the hotels right on the canal. Definatly not a 5 or even 4 star but you aren't paying the same price either.

  • Stayed September 2002
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2004

We chose this hotel because some friends were staying there as well. The first thing I noticed was the place's neon sign that was half-burnt-out. We paid $78/night on a Friday night, and I thought that was way too high. I've stayed in a much nicer hotel in NYC for $100/night recently!

The hotel itself is NOT a luxury hotel, but it's a place to crash. It's a bit outdated, and I'm damn glad we didn't upgrade to the hot-tub suite or the penthouse suite. True, the beds weren't ideal, but the location is pretty good by day. At night, it felt a little seedy because it's just blocks down from the earthly delights of Duluth -- bars, casino, head shop, porn shop, etc.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2003

The plus was that the view from the deck was spectacular and the prices were ok.HOWEVER, there were holes in the walls, it smelled very musty and the window wouldn't open (this smell could have been due to the fact that the air conditioner was about 25 years old), there was a light right outside the window that was not blocked out by the faded curtains, the rusty-peach colored tub was sunken into the ground, the matresses were VERY uncomfortable (they sunk in in the middle), the tv was smaller than my computer monitor, the walls above the bed were dirty with handprints, I found hair on the sheets, etc. Their website is very deceiving.We didn't spend much time in our room because of the condition, we only slept for about 6hrs. We would have asked for another room, but we were told that they didn't have any other rooms.We will not be staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2003

The room was clean, the price was good, but the bed was so hard we couldn't sleep.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Voyageur Lakewalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Address: Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth's historic Old Downtown. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, theaters and entertainment, Canal Park, Fitger's Brewery Complex, Fon du Luth Casino, as well as major hospitals and clinics. Full Cable and Showtime, bring your laptop - we have wireless internet access! Standard rooms, some with lake view, whirlpool lodge rooms with fireplaces, rough log furniture, pine walls and wonderful views of Lake Superior. Free continental breakfast and a friendly staff. Enjoy your stay at Voyageur Duluth Lakewalk Inn! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.