We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go again-good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will go again-good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stopped here because we like the more 'mom/pop' places over big names. We (two couples on a fishing trip) were traveling to another town and couldn't check in until a day later so this was not a planned stop that we had researched; but did a quick look on our phone for motels while in our car. Their site had said rooms with a lake view & thought we'd give it a try. We were greeted by a very friendly staff which is the right way to start a stay. Unfortunately, they didn't have any rooms that were lake view (apparently most do not have), but we had two of the standard rooms that were pretty clean and the bed was comfortable; although my wife did point out the room was a cookie cutter motel room, one picture on the wall, just plain (other family owned places seem to be more homey) and the a/c was pretty loud but after awhile we kinda got used to it, and we're heavy sleepers . The location was good, again, we were just there for a night as a pit stop, but it was within walking distance for us to go to eat and take a walk around to relax at night. Overall, if we need to stop for a night in the area we will stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    19
    7
    11
See reviews for
5
32
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Polebridge, Montana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Another repeat stay. Reasonable, affordable.price, and comfortable room. Staff alway great. This is really a nice location to the Canal Park attractions and great restaraunts that are close by. Give this consideration!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bethel, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I didn't have high expectations for this place but I was still extremely disappointed upon arrival. We had read online that most rooms were lake view rooms. This is false. Most are NOT. We had a ground level room & there was a woman that walked past our room a few times & would stop & glare in on us through the window, which was totally creepy. We had to keep the curtains drawn in an already dreary atmospere. The room smelled terrible & I could barely breathe. I had to wash all of my clothes twice when I got home to get the stench out of them. As we were getting ready to get out of there ASAP the next morning...We noticed a pile of either dog or cat food under the desk. We had brought neither. Which could only mean that the housekeeping definitley wasn't up to par. I don't even want to think about what was on the bedding. Also, the a/c unit was so loud that neither of us slept. It was a HUGE disappointment. Do not stay here! Cheap & there's a reason why!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night as part of a long cross-country trip. We had never been to Duluth, didn't expect much, but wanted to stay downtown rather than on a highway in case there might be something to see. The reviews of the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn were kind of all over the map. But on balance we were quite pleasantly surprised. Because we were on such a long trip, we had heavy suitcases. So we were delighted that they had parking on the upper level where our room was located in addition to their lower level parking. The room was small, but certainly adequate and reasonably priced, especially for a downtown location in a city. Best of all, it was within walking distance of downtown stores and restaurants and a great redeveloped waterfront area with lots to see and do. Our room actually had a water view. The A/C was kind of noisy and the curtains too thin to keep the sun from shining in in the morning. The "continental breakfast" was danish and coffee in the office. But we really didn't pay for more than that. The office staff was friendly and all in all the place exceeded our expectations for the price. The location was great, within walking distance of fancier hotels on the waterfront that probably cost a lot more. As for Duluth, it also exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place was nicely located in downtown Duluth, but the room wasn't what was expected. It seemed like it was a bit ancient and hadn't been updated since the 80's. The room smelled weird, and the shower was in definite need of upgrade. As my friends and I were there for a wedding, the only time we spent there was to sleep so it was fine. The hotel had great views of Lake Superior, with a deck overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: choosing a higher end room might be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I prefer to shop local when we travel so were looking for somewhere to stay without a chain name. Our TripAdvisor search brought us to the Voyageur for a one-day stop in Duluth and we loved it. Smaller, old-fashioned motel was very clean and comfortable. While located right on Superior Street, the rooms were quiet and the glimpses of Lake Superior through the room window were an added bonus. We haven't been given an actual room key for years and loved the retro experience. Grabbed a cup of coffee from the office and headed up to the sundeck in the morning to watch the freighters thread their way into the harbor. It was an excellent stay and the staff was tremendous - extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Heard the suites are tremendous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a clean less expensive alternative to the >$200 hotels in Canal Park. You will be within walking distance of Canal Park, the lakewalk, Fitzgers, and the Pickwick. We parked out truck and walked everywhere. No, it is not a 5 star hotel but it is a decent alternative. I did not feel like it was dirty or that I had to sleep in my clothes as another reviewer stated. We stayed two nights and had no trouble sleeping even with the road noise. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a south side, third floor room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Voyageur Lakewalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Address: Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth's historic Old Downtown. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, theaters and entertainment, Canal Park, Fitger's Brewery Complex, Fon du Luth Casino, as well as major hospitals and clinics. Full Cable and Showtime, bring your laptop - we have wireless internet access! Standard rooms, some with lake view, whirlpool lodge rooms with fireplaces, rough log furniture, pine walls and wonderful views of Lake Superior. Free continental breakfast and a friendly staff. Enjoy your stay at Voyageur Duluth Lakewalk Inn! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Voyageur Lakewalk Inn to your Saves list
;