We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Little Blast From The Past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant Little Blast From The Past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I prefer to shop local when we travel so were looking for somewhere to stay without a chain name. Our TripAdvisor search brought us to the Voyageur for a one-day stop in Duluth and we loved it. Smaller, old-fashioned motel was very clean and comfortable. While located right on Superior Street, the rooms were quiet and the glimpses of Lake Superior through the room window were an added bonus. We haven't been given an actual room key for years and loved the retro experience. Grabbed a cup of coffee from the office and headed up to the sundeck in the morning to watch the freighters thread their way into the harbor. It was an excellent stay and the staff was tremendous - extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Heard the suites are tremendous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    19
    7
    10
See reviews for
5
32
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a clean less expensive alternative to the >$200 hotels in Canal Park. You will be within walking distance of Canal Park, the lakewalk, Fitzgers, and the Pickwick. We parked out truck and walked everywhere. No, it is not a 5 star hotel but it is a decent alternative. I did not feel like it was dirty or that I had to sleep in my clothes as another reviewer stated. We stayed two nights and had no trouble sleeping even with the road noise. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a south side, third floor room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in a standard 2 full bed room. It was clean and quiet.
Nothing fancy, but a good place for a restful night.
Room did include a refrigerator.
Breakfast was a Danish and tea or coffee.

There are a few decks on the property with good views of Lake Superior. Our room had a partial view of the lake.

We had to climb a few flights of stairs to get the room from the office. I did not see an elevator.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I would return to the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn any time that I visit Duluth, but I would have to been in the same room I had this first visit. It was one of the pine rooms with a lake view, fireplace, hot tub, refrigerator and microwave. It was clean and cozy. Although some visitors might not like it, I enjoyed the glow of their neon sign, which served as a nightlight for me.

Room Tip: You must stay in one of their top rooms! Other customers complained of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I needed just one night passing through Duluth to see my son at UMD and then camping in the North Shore. I was familiar with the location and generally knew what to expect - which was not much. I slept on top of the blankets in my clothes. The place needed paint and scrubbing in the bathroom. By the looks of other people coming and going from this hotel they may rent by the hour - if you get my drift.

Never again - I will sleep in my car before I book again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had rather spontaneously decided to go up north to Lake Superior and Duluth for the Three-Day-Easter-Weekend of 2012 and some of the inns and motels that I had called were fully booked by then. Luckily - I have to say in retrospect - the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn still had rooms available, so I stayed there while in Duluth. Location-wise the motel is awesome. It's easy to get to, has free on-site parking, it's within reasonable walking distance of Canal Park and in absolutely no time you're on Highway 61 driving along Lake Superior's north shore to a plethora of small to ample sized state parks.
I found the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn to be a nice, clean, classic motel with pretty decent sized rooms and accordingly sized, equally clean en suite bathrooms. Why would I not give it an 'excellent' rating then? Because calling a stack of paper cups, a large thermos with coffee and a box of donuts opposite the reception desk a 'continental breakfast' is preposterous. For a proper breakfast walk down three blocks on Superior Street to the Coney Island Diner.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've stayed here on more than one occasion. The location is super convenient for me when staying in Duluth. It's certainly not a fancy place by any means, but it is a value option when staying in Duluth. Free breakfast includes coffee and danish donuts. Rates seem to have gone up a little bit in the past few years, but it's still a good budget option in Duluth with so many other hotels so expensive there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel
Airport Transpo...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Wheelchair acce...
Show More
4.0 mi away
Super 8 Duluth
Super 8 Duluth
#24 of 32 in Duluth
3.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Lakewalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Address: Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Voyageur Lakewalk Inn to your Saves list