We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely no frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Farmington, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely no frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I headed to Duluth for the UMD homecomming game with 2 teenage girls and after reading reviews decided to book a room for 2 nights. If you're looking for a room with no frills, just the basics, close to shops and restaurants... this is the place. The room was small, beds comfortable and overall the room was clean. The location was perfect for walking to activities, it was very close to Fitgers and some awesome restaurants downtown. There are random street folks that make their way into the registration desk area and parking lot to help themselves to the cigarette butts in the containers outside the rooms. One guy fell asleep in a chair outside the office and started yelling remarks in his sleep. I will say that when I told the front desk what was going on they were quick to clear the place of these folks. For the price, I would consider staying here again, but never with small children or teenagers. The area just didn't feel safe. Continental breakfast includes danishes and coffee, nothing else. Again, room was clean... but no frills.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    19
    7
    10
See reviews for
5
32
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn and honestly weren't sure what to expect. There was not a room to be found in Duluth, and what was available was $200 + a night! We stayed in one of the "lodge" rooms with a queen bed, whirlpool and lakeview for $125 which seemed a bit high, but not much choice out there! We were so pleasantly surprised when we walked in the room. It was like walking into a little log cabin! So cute and cozy with a whirlpool tub in the corner and a beautiful lake view. It was very clean and the bed and pillows were super comfy! It had a small bathroom with a stand up shower, coffee pot and fridge. Overall the motel was very quiet but with a some traffic noise, which is expected on a busy street downtown. It is within walking distance to a lot of shops, restaurants and the casino. We would definately stay here again :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Passing through Duluth my husband and I decided to stop for the night. We found the Voyageur Lakewalk, and signed in. The room was a double and cost $79.00 for the night. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We didn’t really check anything out other than the shower. It had hot water and clean towels. We slept well with the exception of some road noise but that was expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

As long as you don't want to sleep the place is passable . Both weekend night 3 gang loads of cars pulled into parking lot ,yelled ,swore ,opened and closed doors ,and basically partied . There is a caretaker on sight who had the phone off the hook or was getting too many calls but the people were never told to leave ,or police called . Left after a couple of hours on there own .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

From service upon arrival to cleanliness of our room we were very pleased! The room (king jacuzzi/fireplace) wasn't perfumed to smell clean, it just was. The location was perfect (for us), a block from Fitger's Brewery and steps from The Lakewalk. Most rooms appeared to have a pretty decent view of the lake. All in all, we're impressed!! Stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Voyageur Lakewalk for two nights midweek in Sept. The price for a room with two queen beds was $79 plus tax which seemed pretty reasonable considering the downtown location and the good view. The room was clean and comfortable. It had a small refrigerator and coffee maker, but no microwave. The wi fi was fast enough. They have a patio overlooking the street and lake. It was pleasant to sit and watch the view. There was no breakfast, but they did have coffee and a small danish available in the lobbby.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A friend suggested this place and I thought I'd give it a try. The reviews seemed decent enough and I was traveling alone, on a budget. I paid about $100/night after taxes for a room with 2 queen beds on a Friday and Saturday in the middle of July.

The service was friendly and adequate. My room was clean and didn't and smelled neither of bleach nor anything nasty. Average room size with a small fridge, coffee maker, etc., etc. The roof deck and the free parking are probably the lone amenities of interest, but for $100/night in the middle of summer in Duluth in a prime location, I'm not complaining.

The motel is very close to the Fitger's Brewery Complex and not far from a bunch of other downtown and Canal Park spots. I was able to walk to both Canal Park & the Bayfront Festival grounds without batting an eye. It's a safe neighborhood. I wouldn't hesitate to walk around the area during the day or at night. With the A/C on (it was HOT in Duluth this summer), I slept well and didn't hear anyone above me or on either side. I did hear a few cars in the morning, but nothing that bothered me.

As for hookers and drug dealers... didn't see any. Where do people get these ideas?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Voyageur Lakewalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Address: Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Voyageur Lakewalk Inn to your Saves list