We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 hotels in Duluth
Renton, WA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good value and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Voyageur Lakewalk for two nights midweek in Sept. The price for a room with two queen beds was $79 plus tax which seemed pretty reasonable considering the downtown location and the good view. The room was clean and comfortable. It had a small refrigerator and coffee maker, but no microwave. The wi fi was fast enough. They have a patio overlooking the street and lake. It was pleasant to sit and watch the view. There was no breakfast, but they did have coffee and a small danish available in the lobbby.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    18
    6
    10
See reviews for
5
30
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A friend suggested this place and I thought I'd give it a try. The reviews seemed decent enough and I was traveling alone, on a budget. I paid about $100/night after taxes for a room with 2 queen beds on a Friday and Saturday in the middle of July.

The service was friendly and adequate. My room was clean and didn't and smelled neither of bleach nor anything nasty. Average room size with a small fridge, coffee maker, etc., etc. The roof deck and the free parking are probably the lone amenities of interest, but for $100/night in the middle of summer in Duluth in a prime location, I'm not complaining.

The motel is very close to the Fitger's Brewery Complex and not far from a bunch of other downtown and Canal Park spots. I was able to walk to both Canal Park & the Bayfront Festival grounds without batting an eye. It's a safe neighborhood. I wouldn't hesitate to walk around the area during the day or at night. With the A/C on (it was HOT in Duluth this summer), I slept well and didn't hear anyone above me or on either side. I did hear a few cars in the morning, but nothing that bothered me.

As for hookers and drug dealers... didn't see any. Where do people get these ideas?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have stayed at the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn several times in the last few years....we keep going back for the following reasons: staff and owner have always gone over and above for our comfort; the location is excellent (walking distance to downtown stores and Canal Park); the accomodations are clean; good value for your dollar; patio access overlooks the lake and adds immensely to your enjoyment, whether it be morning, afternoon or night (this luxury would not be available at hotels that cost three or four times more). We highly recommend this establishment to anyone who is travelling through the Duluth area.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise, higher floors are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed in Duluth for a night on our motorcycle trip around Lake Superior. Nice location right downtown and an easy walk to the very expensive canal park area. Clean, average sized rooms. Could use an update. "Breakfast" is donuts and coffee. Great roof top deck that overlooks the lake and downtown. Deck closed at 11 pm. Friendly staff - front desk girl came out while we were parking the bikes and gave us wooden pads to put under the stands so we wouldn't sink into the hot asphalt and a guy put bright orange cones around the bikes so nobody would back into them. We greatly appreciated that thoughtful touch! We felt very safe at all times and we were out late. The only problem was finding the place as the street was closed off due to a festival, so we had to take a round about way in. Would stay here again. Was really hot and humid while we were there, and the AC kept the rooom cool enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for the first time after years of saying we were going to, and this will be our go to place from now on. It's right on main street downtown, just south of Fitger's. You can see your car from your room. It's walking distance to all kinds of eating establishments. In fact, a great, cheap bkf is Coney Island, just 2 blocks south. You can sit on the 2nd floor deck and see the Lake. We took our bikes and right across the street is the entrance to get on the Lakewalk, so we were in Canal Park in minutes with no parking headaches. The rooms are simple and clean and had a refrigerator. I don't think there was a hair dryer? We didn't turn the TV on so not sure about that. There's no pool ( I accidently rated a pool and couldn't take it back, sorry!) Location and price are the draws for us. Don't get me wrong, if $ wasn't an issue I'd be on Canal Park in a room 2-3 times the price in no time, but here in the real world this was just fine!

Room Tip: There are rooms that view the Lake but it's not that great a view so don't worry about payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

This was a very wise choice for our family of five. Clean rooms - not a five star by any means - but way above average. It was much more economical than the Sheraton next door and all of the others rated higher.

There are two terraces that provided a great view of Superior and Canal Park.

The best part is the location - one block from the Lakewalk and .83 miles from the lift bridge which you can easily walk to along the lake.

Again a wise, economical choice that is more than acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel is not in a sketchy part of town. Fitger's is a block away and the Sheraton is a block the other way. Some of the guests may have looked a little rough, but this is an inexpensive hotel in a tourist town. There is a nice deck overlooking Lake Superior. The rooms were clean and had refrigerators. The AC could have used recharging, but it cooled the room well enough. The towels were on the small side, but adequate. Canal Park is within easy walking distance, parking was not an issue for us, and the price was right. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Voyageur Lakewalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel
Address: Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Voyageur Lakewalk Inn to your Saves list