We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Voyageur Lakewalk Inn staff/manager aim to please” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Voyageur Lakewalk Inn staff/manager aim to please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have stayed at the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn several times in the last few years....we keep going back for the following reasons: staff and owner have always gone over and above for our comfort; the location is excellent (walking distance to downtown stores and Canal Park); the accomodations are clean; good value for your dollar; patio access overlooks the lake and adds immensely to your enjoyment, whether it be morning, afternoon or night (this luxury would not be available at hotels that cost three or four times more). We highly recommend this establishment to anyone who is travelling through the Duluth area.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise, higher floors are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    19
    7
    10
See reviews for
5
32
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed in Duluth for a night on our motorcycle trip around Lake Superior. Nice location right downtown and an easy walk to the very expensive canal park area. Clean, average sized rooms. Could use an update. "Breakfast" is donuts and coffee. Great roof top deck that overlooks the lake and downtown. Deck closed at 11 pm. Friendly staff - front desk girl came out while we were parking the bikes and gave us wooden pads to put under the stands so we wouldn't sink into the hot asphalt and a guy put bright orange cones around the bikes so nobody would back into them. We greatly appreciated that thoughtful touch! We felt very safe at all times and we were out late. The only problem was finding the place as the street was closed off due to a festival, so we had to take a round about way in. Would stay here again. Was really hot and humid while we were there, and the AC kept the rooom cool enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for the first time after years of saying we were going to, and this will be our go to place from now on. It's right on main street downtown, just south of Fitger's. You can see your car from your room. It's walking distance to all kinds of eating establishments. In fact, a great, cheap bkf is Coney Island, just 2 blocks south. You can sit on the 2nd floor deck and see the Lake. We took our bikes and right across the street is the entrance to get on the Lakewalk, so we were in Canal Park in minutes with no parking headaches. The rooms are simple and clean and had a refrigerator. I don't think there was a hair dryer? We didn't turn the TV on so not sure about that. There's no pool ( I accidently rated a pool and couldn't take it back, sorry!) Location and price are the draws for us. Don't get me wrong, if $ wasn't an issue I'd be on Canal Park in a room 2-3 times the price in no time, but here in the real world this was just fine!

Room Tip: There are rooms that view the Lake but it's not that great a view so don't worry about payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

This was a very wise choice for our family of five. Clean rooms - not a five star by any means - but way above average. It was much more economical than the Sheraton next door and all of the others rated higher.

There are two terraces that provided a great view of Superior and Canal Park.

The best part is the location - one block from the Lakewalk and .83 miles from the lift bridge which you can easily walk to along the lake.

Again a wise, economical choice that is more than acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel is not in a sketchy part of town. Fitger's is a block away and the Sheraton is a block the other way. Some of the guests may have looked a little rough, but this is an inexpensive hotel in a tourist town. There is a nice deck overlooking Lake Superior. The rooms were clean and had refrigerators. The AC could have used recharging, but it cooled the room well enough. The towels were on the small side, but adequate. Canal Park is within easy walking distance, parking was not an issue for us, and the price was right. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The place is like an older motel where you park in front of your room. It seems like a bit of a rough area but I was not uncomfortable - maybe seems that way because it is an older area and downtown. Never felt unsafe. The rooms were on the small side, no tub (shower only) but the place was clean and cozy. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were enroute so this stop more than served the purpose for a good night's sleep. The only bad things about the place were the coffee in the AM and the fact that it was not near the highway. For the price you would have trouble finding better place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I was a little skeptical about going here due to some bad reviews but my boyfriend and I stayed there and it turned out fabulously. We enjoyed our stay there very much. There was plenty of parking, it was not a scary location at all like some of the other reviews stated. The motel was right downtown and next to all the other expensive hotels. It's also right next to a big beautiful hospital and across the street was a gorgeous view of Lake Superior. There was also two decks on the top of the motel to sit and watch the sunset/sunrise. It was beautiful, clean and a good value. We stayed in room 203 with the whirlpool and a view of Lake Superior. Unfortunately we went during a busy time so we had to stay in a smoking room but it did not smell as bad as I thought it would. (Just open the window and turn on the AC unit, you will survive) Included in our room was cable tv, a little refrigerator, a whirlpool and free wifi. The people are also very friendly and helpful. The trolley also stops at the motel also for tours around the downtown area including to canal park so it's very convenient otherwise all the fun attractions are simply a walk away. I would recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Voyageur Lakewalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Address: Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Voyageur Lakewalk Inn to your Saves list