We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorcycle friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Save
You added Voyageur Lakewalk Inn to your Saves list
Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Motorcycle friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed in Duluth for a night on our motorcycle trip around Lake Superior. Nice location right downtown and an easy walk to the very expensive canal park area. Clean, average sized rooms. Could use an update. "Breakfast" is donuts and coffee. Great roof top deck that overlooks the lake and downtown. Deck closed at 11 pm. Friendly staff - front desk girl came out while we were parking the bikes and gave us wooden pads to put under the stands so we wouldn't sink into the hot asphalt and a guy put bright orange cones around the bikes so nobody would back into them. We greatly appreciated that thoughtful touch! We felt very safe at all times and we were out late. The only problem was finding the place as the street was closed off due to a festival, so we had to take a round about way in. Would stay here again. Was really hot and humid while we were there, and the AC kept the rooom cool enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    21
    7
    12
See reviews for
6
38
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for the first time after years of saying we were going to, and this will be our go to place from now on. It's right on main street downtown, just south of Fitger's. You can see your car from your room. It's walking distance to all kinds of eating establishments. In fact, a great, cheap bkf is Coney Island, just 2 blocks south. You can sit on the 2nd floor deck and see the Lake. We took our bikes and right across the street is the entrance to get on the Lakewalk, so we were in Canal Park in minutes with no parking headaches. The rooms are simple and clean and had a refrigerator. I don't think there was a hair dryer? We didn't turn the TV on so not sure about that. There's no pool ( I accidently rated a pool and couldn't take it back, sorry!) Location and price are the draws for us. Don't get me wrong, if $ wasn't an issue I'd be on Canal Park in a room 2-3 times the price in no time, but here in the real world this was just fine!

Room Tip: There are rooms that view the Lake but it's not that great a view so don't worry about payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

This was a very wise choice for our family of five. Clean rooms - not a five star by any means - but way above average. It was much more economical than the Sheraton next door and all of the others rated higher.

There are two terraces that provided a great view of Superior and Canal Park.

The best part is the location - one block from the Lakewalk and .83 miles from the lift bridge which you can easily walk to along the lake.

Again a wise, economical choice that is more than acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel is not in a sketchy part of town. Fitger's is a block away and the Sheraton is a block the other way. Some of the guests may have looked a little rough, but this is an inexpensive hotel in a tourist town. There is a nice deck overlooking Lake Superior. The rooms were clean and had refrigerators. The AC could have used recharging, but it cooled the room well enough. The towels were on the small side, but adequate. Canal Park is within easy walking distance, parking was not an issue for us, and the price was right. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The place is like an older motel where you park in front of your room. It seems like a bit of a rough area but I was not uncomfortable - maybe seems that way because it is an older area and downtown. Never felt unsafe. The rooms were on the small side, no tub (shower only) but the place was clean and cozy. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were enroute so this stop more than served the purpose for a good night's sleep. The only bad things about the place were the coffee in the AM and the fact that it was not near the highway. For the price you would have trouble finding better place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I was a little skeptical about going here due to some bad reviews but my boyfriend and I stayed there and it turned out fabulously. We enjoyed our stay there very much. There was plenty of parking, it was not a scary location at all like some of the other reviews stated. The motel was right downtown and next to all the other expensive hotels. It's also right next to a big beautiful hospital and across the street was a gorgeous view of Lake Superior. There was also two decks on the top of the motel to sit and watch the sunset/sunrise. It was beautiful, clean and a good value. We stayed in room 203 with the whirlpool and a view of Lake Superior. Unfortunately we went during a busy time so we had to stay in a smoking room but it did not smell as bad as I thought it would. (Just open the window and turn on the AC unit, you will survive) Included in our room was cable tv, a little refrigerator, a whirlpool and free wifi. The people are also very friendly and helpful. The trolley also stops at the motel also for tours around the downtown area including to canal park so it's very convenient otherwise all the fun attractions are simply a walk away. I would recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have stayed here probably a dozen times. Cost has been $50-$70 a night. An excellent value compared to the Sheraton next door. We stay here when we go to dances at Greysolon Plaza (only one block away). Some things to know are that it is an older style motor in type place, so your hotel room opens right to the outside air.

While the no-smoking rooms are generally good, there was at least one time where our room smelled smoky and we had to wash all our clothes when we got home. The rooms are very simple but all have a fridge and a coffee maker. The showers are nice with good pressure but the towels are very minimal. The beds are nothing special either but for $60 a night they are good enough. We have never felt unsafe there but the hotel is probably the least expensive one in the area.

Location wise it is right in the middle of all the action in Duluth so from that standpoint everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: If it is the middle of winter and freezing cold, you may want to call an hour before you arrive and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Voyageur Lakewalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Address: Superior St. and 4th Ave. E., Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth's historic Old Downtown. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, theaters and entertainment, Canal Park, Fitger's Brewery Complex, Fon du Luth Casino, as well as major hospitals and clinics. Full Cable and Showtime, bring your laptop - we have wireless internet access! Standard rooms, some with lake view, whirlpool lodge rooms with fireplaces, rough log furniture, pine walls and wonderful views of Lake Superior. Free continental breakfast and a friendly staff. Enjoy your stay at Voyageur Duluth Lakewalk Inn! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.