We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive

Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive
Duluth, MN
800-429-9297
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Attractions in Duluth
Type: Scenic Drives, Outdoors
Activities: Driving
Attraction details
Saint Paul
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So much to offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We love the North Shore of Lake Superior. There is so much to offer every season of the year. As the seasons change… so does the drive. Warm sunny summer days have many options, as does the beauty, of a crisp snowy winter day. You can feel like you are in the middle of the wilderness one minute and at a great restaurant the next. Enjoy the drive

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    80
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“North Shore Scenic Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Never tire of this drive and looking at the lake as we travel. Lots of nice places to eat along the way. Betty's Pies is one of our favorites to stop and eat at.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Waterfalls and brew pubs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had rain for half the trip but just wore our rain gear. Duluth's waterfront area is very impressive. We stayed 1 night there and 2 nights in Grand Marais. I copied travel itineraries from Fodors, Frommers, Lonely Planet, etc. and we followed them. The highway signage is very good showing you where to stop. We did drive into Canada but it was a waste of time. There is nothing to see right there. Then we drove through Wisconsin and into Michigan (UP). It was during the US government shutdown so some places were closed. We hiked to waterfalls and had picnic lunches along the highways at the rest stops which had bathrooms and, often, little hikes. We ended in St. Ignace, MI. We ate lots of fish. It was a beautiful trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Minnesota Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I live in Duluth and see Lake Superior frequently as I move about town, but my wife and I enjoy just taking a drive up the Scenic North Shore Drive. As soon as you leave the city, you are immediately in the North Woods and the views do not stop all the way to Canada. The lake may be peaceful and deep blue one day and the next it may be frothing with raging waves crashing against the shoreline. Either way, the lake brings out an emotional experience of awe and wonder. There are occasional overlooks where one may stop to take photographs. There are places where one may stop and hop onto the Lake Superior Hiking Trail, if you want to stretch your legs. There are a number of fine restaurants available along this scenic drive as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“God's Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

You can't go wrong on a drive up the North Shore of Lake Superior. Motels, restaurants, towns to visit, places to go down to the lake and pick agates. Split Rock Lighthouse. Beaver Bay is the oldest town on the shore. Grand Marais has many great places to check out--and it's right on the lake. In the winter there's Lutsen Resort for skiing, or riding the ski lift in the fall to see the beautiful leaves along the saw tooth mountains.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.