We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Shore Scenic Drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive

Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive
Duluth, MN
800-429-9297
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 45 attractions in Duluth
Type: Scenic Drives
Activities: Driving
Attraction Details
Buffalo, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“North Shore Scenic Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Never tire of this drive and looking at the lake as we travel. Lots of nice places to eat along the way. Betty's Pies is one of our favorites to stop and eat at.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    55
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Waterfalls and brew pubs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had rain for half the trip but just wore our rain gear. Duluth's waterfront area is very impressive. We stayed 1 night there and 2 nights in Grand Marais. I copied travel itineraries from Fodors, Frommers, Lonely Planet, etc. and we followed them. The highway signage is very good showing you where to stop. We did drive into Canada but it was a waste of time. There is nothing to see right there. Then we drove through Wisconsin and into Michigan (UP). It was during the US government shutdown so some places were closed. We hiked to waterfalls and had picnic lunches along the highways at the rest stops which had bathrooms and, often, little hikes. We ended in St. Ignace, MI. We ate lots of fish. It was a beautiful trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Minnesota Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I live in Duluth and see Lake Superior frequently as I move about town, but my wife and I enjoy just taking a drive up the Scenic North Shore Drive. As soon as you leave the city, you are immediately in the North Woods and the views do not stop all the way to Canada. The lake may be peaceful and deep blue one day and the next it may be frothing with raging waves crashing against the shoreline. Either way, the lake brings out an emotional experience of awe and wonder. There are occasional overlooks where one may stop to take photographs. There are places where one may stop and hop onto the Lake Superior Hiking Trail, if you want to stretch your legs. There are a number of fine restaurants available along this scenic drive as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“God's Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

You can't go wrong on a drive up the North Shore of Lake Superior. Motels, restaurants, towns to visit, places to go down to the lake and pick agates. Split Rock Lighthouse. Beaver Bay is the oldest town on the shore. Grand Marais has many great places to check out--and it's right on the lake. In the winter there's Lutsen Resort for skiing, or riding the ski lift in the fall to see the beautiful leaves along the saw tooth mountains.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This drive is a part of MN you don't want to miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The scenic North Shore is something you don't want to miss. All along the shore there are great places to eat such as: The Scenic Cafe, Emily's, ect. The resorts are wonderful. There is so much to do that is free. Hiking, biking, picnicing, discovering, agate hunting, canoeing, and more. Discover Palisades, and the Superior Hiking Trail. To me, this is paradise. Start in Duluth and enjoy what this town has to offer and then head up the shore for that perfect vacation.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.