We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a wonderful drive- the road is well maintained and the scenery is beautiful. a real bonus is to see a huge ship.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive

Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive
Duluth, MN
800-429-9297
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Attractions in Duluth
Type: Scenic Drives, Outdoors
Activities: Driving
Attraction details
hastings, mn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“its a wonderful drive- the road is well maintained and the scenery is beautiful. a real bonus is to see a huge ship.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

the scenery - and when we were there the lake was so still it was like glass so that was an awesome sight

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    80
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful and unique.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Go. If possible allocate a whole day and stay overnight up near or in Canada. The drive gets more scenic the further from Duluth you travel. But even within the first 30 miles there is lots to see. Signage is excellent to guide you to the waysides and parks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Great views of the lake with lots of places to stop an get out and walk around. Wish we had more time to do the entire drive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
484 reviews 484 reviews
155 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Very beautiful drive - any time of year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Drive within about 10 -20 yards of Lake Superior. Take the scenic route between Duluth and Two Harbors. Very special and only adds perhaps 5-7 minutes in travel time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautiful drive with lovely views of Lake Superior! Traffic was light when we were there, however, I'm sure it gets fairly heavy during peak tourist season. We were on a motorcycle and truly enjoyed our trip! Would love to go back and do some exploring!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.