We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All of this beauty with no charge!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive

Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive
Duluth, MN
800-429-9297
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Attractions in Duluth
Type: Scenic Drives, Outdoors
Activities: Driving
Attraction details
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“All of this beauty with no charge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is what we do when we need to get away and unwind, we take a drive up the North Shore. Its the lake and the views and the slower drive that does it. If your in a hurry take the expressway.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    80
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and vistas on a sunny day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Loved the water fronts, Lake Superior is massive, you would think you were by the Atlantic. Some beautiful scenery, rocky outcrops and coves and bays. The waterfalls were truly awesome, full and heavy with snow melt. Saw eagles and deer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very pretty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Only a little road construction and no delays. Trees weren't fully green, but all the better to see Lake Superior through the more wooded areas.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Minnesota the Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a really wonderful stretch of road that shouldn't be missed. The Saturday we drove from Duluth to Split Rock Lighthouse was a snowy one, but we never encountered a bit of snow or ice on the road. It's very well maintained and even the bit of road construction we had to drive through was well marked and easy to navigate. We saw deer and bald eagles, which was exciting. It was fun to drive right on the edge of the lake and through all the cute little towns. I'm sure that it would be amazing to see in every season.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
2 reviews
“road construction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Road construction didn't allow us to go to the picnic area just north of Duluth. Lake was great. We found our way by way of my poor memory of he area to have smoked fish. Weather was awesome. Many deer everywhere; hard to believe. We had a nice day minus the picnic I had planned.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.