We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful drive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive

Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive
Duluth, MN
800-429-9297
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 47 Attractions in Duluth
Type: Scenic Drives
Activities: Driving
Attraction Details
Two Harbors, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a beautiful drive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My first time visiting the Duluth area my friend immediately made us take a drive on the North Shore Scenic Drive. I must admit it was breathtaking and I wanted more. We drove all the way to Emilys Lighthouse where we had lunch and then we drove back during the twilight hours which I can say is an experience in its own right.

If you are traveling to Duluth it is a must to drive on regardless of snow on the ground. If you do not believe me see this pictures for yourself.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    75
    16
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful drive all the way up to Grand Marais. Make sure to eat at the New Scenic Cafe which is about a 20 minute drive out of Duluth.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
“Just Drive It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Pretty Drive in the Fall, Winter or Summer! Must stop at Brighten Beach and Gooseberry Falls for additional scenary. Bring your camera!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
133 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Epic Fall Colors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went after Duluth almost got destoyed by the flash rain fall they had this summer. Of course Jay Cook state park is out of commision for who knows how long. But yes to see the wonderful fall colors reflected in lake superior is one of the great road trips to take.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflock@excite.com
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Never tire of it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been on this entire north shore many many times-camped with little babies and all the way through the teens and they all like it. The state parks are all great and in Fall the colors are the best I've seen-one hill after another just all gold,red, orange and the Superior Hiking Trail is easy to hop on and off of depending how long you want to hike, Go farther up the north shore because it gets better and the beaches are great for kids to run around on and wear themselves out with climbing and skipping stones. If you are on a tight money budget like we were and took 5 kids camping up there and stayed in the state parks it's the best deal around. You don't have to spend extra money after you camp fee and state park fee if you don't want to because enough to do that's fee-it's called nature!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.