We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike Ride & Countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willard Munger State Trail

Willard Munger State Trail
Duluth, MN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 81 things to do in Duluth
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bike Ride & Countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Amazing trail out in the countryside. This trail offers some great picture perfect moments - there's a bicycle / foot bridge that crosses a river that was a torrent of water in June. I tend to think that even if the flow had been less than what it was when I saw it, this still would have been a beautiful place to stop and pull out the camera. The trail is well maintained, except for a few places where tree roots have made for some bumps in the pavement. Expect a series of road crossings and take care to stop at stop signs as there is enforcement (I am told). Bring plenty of water and snacks as the places to stop for food along the way are spread pretty far apart.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hermantown
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Usually not crowded. Wheels are always annoying when walking. Can park at Riverside access and points in Duluth. crime-safe but lock purse in trunk etc. common-sense. nice escercise, a few neat RR bridges, carry water.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Scenic and truelly for the birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

NIce all year round with the view and an easy place to hike. But in the early fall, the place turns into Bird central. For weeks on ends thousands and thousands of hawks, eagles, etc... fly over this spot and it is an amazing thing to see and be a part of. We aren't birding people, but we just love opportunity to see nature up close and personal and it really is a great experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isanti, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Have Property on it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Property owners aren't supposed to drive over to get in their own driveway..

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to run and ride your bikes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We road our bicycles on here now we do it with our granddaughter. it just a great place for running and biking.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willard Munger State Trail also viewed

 

Been to Willard Munger State Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willard Munger State Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.