We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands Down, Best Hotel in Duluth, But...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hands Down, Best Hotel in Duluth, But...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

.. the service and extra amenities that I have come to expect are going down hill

I have been staying at the Inn on Lake Superior for years; it's the only place that I'll stay or recommend in Duluth. On our most recent stay we took advantage of the pet policy and brought along our pooch, but had some mixed feelings about our stay with our pet.

Pros:
- Beautiful Location & Gorgeous Views
- AMAZING Beds
- Pets Allowed
- Great Breakfast (included!)
- Lake Front Patio
- Free Nightly S'mores and complimentary tea, hot chocolate, and coffee 24/hours
- Rooftop Pool & Great Sauna

Cons:
- Service
- Pet Policy
- Pool Hours
- Breakfast Hours
- Tea Options

Service:
I was disappointed in the level of professionalism and lack of communication among staff. We had added on the "Inn Credible Getaway" Package, which includes (among other things) a 1pm, rather than noon, check out time.

Maid service knocked on our door shortly after 12 on the day of checkout-- despite the "privacy please" sign clearly placed on the door. I found this to be completely unacceptable. A guest should never have to deal with hotel staff knocking when the "privacy please" sign is clearly and appropriately placed on the door, regardless of check-out time. A phone call from the front desk would have been appropriate had we stayed over check-out with the privacy sign posted.

Not only were we interrupted during our last hours of vacation by maid service with the privacy sign on the door, but we were interrupted by maid service- with the privacy sign- after we had paid an additional fee to have an extended check out time for our romantic winter vacation and not be interrupted. Not cool. The additional charges for the package should have been removed from the bill, and an apology from management would have been warranted.

Pet Policy:
It's great that the Inn allows pets, but I would consider their policy to be more "pet tolerant" than "pet friendly". Pets are not allowed in public areas, such as reception. It would be nice to be able to bring along the pooch while enjoying the views and coffee in the dining area during non-breakfast hours, or when using the public computer. The luxurious linens, duvets, and down comforters that I have come to expect at the Inn were replaced with "second string" linens and no down comforters. I understand the reasoning behind this change, but I did not anticipate a "down-graded" stay by bringing along the pooch, particularly with an additional pet fee. For these reasons, I would not recommend bringing along your furry family members if you want the full experience.

Pool/Breakfast Hours:
Make no mistake, the Inn on the Lake is a haven for families with children... bad news for couples seeking a romantic getaway The pool area is a zoo of kids all day and all night until the pool closes at 11, with an alleged small window of adult time from 10-11p. This is not enforced, and we were not pleased to find screaming kids cannon-balling into the pool well past 10pm. Our stay would have been better if the pool hours were extended until midnight, with an enforced "adults only" time from 10 to midnight. We would also have liked to see the breakfast hours extended on the weekends to 10:30 rather than 10. We were a few minutes late for breakfast one morning, and the breakfast staff is very punctual in regard to clean up at 10.

What happened to the Tazo Tea?
One of my favorite aspects of the Inn on the Lake is their attention to detail, and I particularly loved the complimentary Tazo Tea in the lobby. It was unique and made the Inn stand out as a place that felt like home and didn't overlook the little extras. The Tazo tea is gone and has been replaced with generic stuff.

Not to be too nit-picky, but the Inn has been cutting corners lately and it has not gone unnoticed by their regular guests. I love this place, and want to continue to love it and recommend it to my friends and family; but when it's the little things that I love, and the little things that are getting overlooked more and more often each time I come, I find myself being slightly more hesitant in recommending the Inn and booking a room for my stays in Duluth.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Thank you for your loyalty and continued patronage, and for your feedback. We take all input seriously and will take your remarks under consideration as we continue to refine the IOLS with the goal of continuous improvement to the guest experience. We are always striving to make positive changes with some being more successful than others. Also, we are sorry for your experience with the Inncredible Getaway package. Please feel free to call us so we can follow up with you and make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    142
    41
    22
    12
See reviews for
251
201
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Hotel is well managed with comfortable beds and a great view of the lake, All within walking distance of many Canal park venues and they will even shuttle you free around town until 10PM.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Thank you for sharing your comments – we are glad you enjoyed yourself while you were here. The hotel’s General Manager is an enthusiastic professional who hires, trains & inspires people to do their best at all times.
We love having you here and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

A warm inviting feel greats you as you walk into this wonderful hotel. In the heart of Duluth feel free to take a couple steps and you are feeling the cool breeze of Lake Superior. To cold for you, stay inside sipping a nice warm cup of Hot Choclate provided by the hotel. As the sun sets head over to one of the great restaurants and have a fabulous meal. The next day enjoy a great hot breakfast with as many choices as there is you are bound to find the right one. As you can see this hotel puts you in the center of everything you could see in Duluth. ENJOY !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy the hotel’s amenities, the Lake and Duluth, all of which are wonderful. We feel pretty lucky to be here and want to enhance the experience for all our guests. We look forward to having you as our guest when you come back to Duluth. Remember - We Wish You Were Here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We went to Duluth to visit my sister. The hotel itself is very nice -- clean, nicely decorated, and it had an indoor pool and a rooftop pool (we didn't get to use the rooftop because it was pretty cold out). The location was great, right by Canal Park, and the hotel offered activities such as making s'more's using their outdoor fire pits. The hotel also offers a "continental breakfast"--but this wasn't your average "scrambled eggs and mini-muffins"! There were lots of choices, and it was very well done. Overall, there was an air of hospitality around the place, and other guests were very social -- not sure if that was a fluke or because of the hotel's atmosphere.

On the down side, the indoor pool water smells a bit funny, so be sure to rinse off right away using one of the poolside showers. The mattresses are on the firm side, so you might be a bit sore if you're a soft-mattress kind of person. And just beware that the hotel DOES allow pets in some rooms, just keep it in mind if you have allergies! They should be able to set you up with a non-pet room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you and your family had an enjoyable time with us – we agree that people are pretty social here, we attribute it to the view and our staff, both of which are terrific. We do have specific pet friendly rooms, so when people let us know their needs, we are able to accommodate them. We hope you will come back to visit your sister and us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

First off, you can't beat the location as you're both right on the lake and in Canal Park. This was our first time staying here and we've been going to Duluth for well over a decade. We'll certainly be checking them out again for future trips.

With that being said, we'll start with the good: First off, the rate we received ($150/night) was an excellent rate. We were initially quoted $180/night so the price was a nice suprise. This was for a lake-view King Suite with an in room jaccuzzi. I've seen rates for this anywhere from $200-230 or so though. Not sure how we'd feel at that rate. As for the room, it was very nice and clean. A few things could be nit-picked, but nothing really worth while. The view was nice, the bed was comfortable and everything was nice and clean. They have a few items in the mini-fridge, all of which are complimentary (a nice touch). We were surprised with a bottle of champaigne on ice with glasses. Must have mentioned our anniversary during the reservations. It was a Korbel, but still a thoughtful gesture that was appreciated! The roof pool is a cool touch, but the deck is COLD! The breakfast is a small step above your usual as they have a few hot items. The staff was very attentive and helpful at all times. And the fire with free S'Mores was a really nice touch we enjoyed both nights!

About the only "knock" we found was the common area for breakfast. It was just kind of..."meh". Clean, but dated. Outside of that, a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay. We try hard to meet the needs and exceed the expectations of every guest, and are happy that you chose us to celebrate your anniversary. We do have plans to update the breakfast area in 2011, and hope you will like what we’ve done when you come to stay with us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

The inn on lake superior is a wonderful place to stay when traveling to the north shore of lake superior in Duluth. S'mores every night is just one of the benefits. Every time I have stayed there it has been clean and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Thanks for your review and your continued loyalty! We’re glad you and your family had a good time, and look forward to welcoming you again when you next come to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed in the beginning of October 2010. This was not our first, and definitely will not be our last time there. Every time there we have been treated with the utmost respect and our rooms have always been very clean and well taken care of. I commend them for the above and beyond amenities, such as the smores and the hotdog for light dinner they had offered before. These little things are just cool. I have always been greeted with a smile and after having bad experiences at other hotels with disrespect and theft, this was a great change. The only negative thing I would say about the hotel is the last time we were there they had a mechanical issue with the hot tub and that is not something they can control, sometimes things just break. We will be going up for Christmas and hopefully one more time in between then and now.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. The biggest compliment our guests can give us is when they come back to stay with us again, and we really appreciate that. And thanks for your understanding that some things are not in our control, and we do our best to fix what’s broken as quickly as possible. Please let us know when you will be returning, so we can welcome & thank you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.