We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixture of great and mediocre.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A mixture of great and mediocre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

First off, you can't beat the location as you're both right on the lake and in Canal Park. This was our first time staying here and we've been going to Duluth for well over a decade. We'll certainly be checking them out again for future trips.

With that being said, we'll start with the good: First off, the rate we received ($150/night) was an excellent rate. We were initially quoted $180/night so the price was a nice suprise. This was for a lake-view King Suite with an in room jaccuzzi. I've seen rates for this anywhere from $200-230 or so though. Not sure how we'd feel at that rate. As for the room, it was very nice and clean. A few things could be nit-picked, but nothing really worth while. The view was nice, the bed was comfortable and everything was nice and clean. They have a few items in the mini-fridge, all of which are complimentary (a nice touch). We were surprised with a bottle of champaigne on ice with glasses. Must have mentioned our anniversary during the reservations. It was a Korbel, but still a thoughtful gesture that was appreciated! The roof pool is a cool touch, but the deck is COLD! The breakfast is a small step above your usual as they have a few hot items. The staff was very attentive and helpful at all times. And the fire with free S'Mores was a really nice touch we enjoyed both nights!

About the only "knock" we found was the common area for breakfast. It was just kind of..."meh". Clean, but dated. Outside of that, a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay. We try hard to meet the needs and exceed the expectations of every guest, and are happy that you chose us to celebrate your anniversary. We do have plans to update the breakfast area in 2011, and hope you will like what we’ve done when you come to stay with us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    131
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
232
174
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

The inn on lake superior is a wonderful place to stay when traveling to the north shore of lake superior in Duluth. S'mores every night is just one of the benefits. Every time I have stayed there it has been clean and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Thanks for your review and your continued loyalty! We’re glad you and your family had a good time, and look forward to welcoming you again when you next come to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed in the beginning of October 2010. This was not our first, and definitely will not be our last time there. Every time there we have been treated with the utmost respect and our rooms have always been very clean and well taken care of. I commend them for the above and beyond amenities, such as the smores and the hotdog for light dinner they had offered before. These little things are just cool. I have always been greeted with a smile and after having bad experiences at other hotels with disrespect and theft, this was a great change. The only negative thing I would say about the hotel is the last time we were there they had a mechanical issue with the hot tub and that is not something they can control, sometimes things just break. We will be going up for Christmas and hopefully one more time in between then and now.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. The biggest compliment our guests can give us is when they come back to stay with us again, and we really appreciate that. And thanks for your understanding that some things are not in our control, and we do our best to fix what’s broken as quickly as possible. Please let us know when you will be returning, so we can welcome & thank you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed 10/9-10/12/10. The room was the family suite, lake side. The view of the lake was great! And they seemed to have good customer service except that some items in the gift shop, (sweat shirts, T-shirts) were listed as 20% off, the ticket on the item did not reflect the discount and when it was paid for the clerk at the front desk said the items were already dicounted. Our room had a bad odor sometimes, like urine, it would come & go, the room also had fruit flys. Since the hotel was very expensive and built in or around 1996, they should update the rooms, new carpet/paint would help. They had nightly somemores from 8-10 that the kids loved. I have stayed at this hotel years ago, I could tell they dont keep it up like they used to. The breakfest was good, however, they left the kitchen door open early one morning and did it look dirty in there! They have waffles, but alot of hotels do that now.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I am sorry you found conditions not up to our usual high standard – and that you were overcharged at the gift shop. If you would contact me directly, we will refund the money.
We are planning to install new carpet and other improvements shortly after the New Year. We do hope you will give us another chance to earn your continued loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was our first stay at the Inn . You can walk to many shops and restaurants close by, which is nice because parking is at a premium in this area.The rooms are very nice, with good beds and linens, a microwave, and small refrigerator. Our room had a beautiful lake view with a small balconey. Everything was very clean,except that our sink was cracked and very slow to drain. We mentioned this at check-out. The sink area is separate from the toilet and shower. I loved the large shower.

The hotel is totally smoke free, which is very important to me. There are many little extras- a fairly good breakfast with a hot choice each morning, S'mores every evening by a campfire (which we missed because we were out for dinner), and two complimentary sodas and bottles of water daily in our little frig. They even accept pets and the ones we saw were well behaved.

We were in Duluth to visit our daughter and go to Apple Fest in Wisconsin, so we didn't actually spend much time at the hotel.There is an indoor pool and an outdoor pool that we didn't get to use, but hopefully we will on our next visit. The hotel can be pricey, but there are good mid-week deals and discounts for AAA and AARP. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Thanks so much for your comments about our hotel and your stay here. We are glad you were happy with the accommodations, view and location, and that you were able to enjoy some of our amenities during your visit. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I stayed at the Inn On Lake Superior with some friends in July 2010 for a girlfriends getaway. I have been staying at this hotel for 10 years now and have to say that I still love it! The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are wonderful and the one we stayed in had been recently updated. The roof top pool is the best! In the summer you can lounge in the sun and in the winter the kids love to swim when it is snowing! If you are going to the North Shore, pick this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Thank you for your loyalty and patronage! You have been staying with us since before we even had a rooftop pool – we are so glad you like it up there. Please let us know when you and your group will be back so we can thank you personally. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We have just returned from Duluth, and decided to post a quick review of our stay at the Inn. We had tried to book a few other hotels nearby, but they did not accept pets. We walked up to the Inn's check in desk, and were advised that they do accept pets, and we were promptly booked into a second floor corner room. We travel extensively with our Dals, and were very impressed with the room, cleanliness, view, and the very cool dishes along with the dog scoop bouys! We will be back, and recommend this hotel to others with pets.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Thank you for sharing your comments on TA. As a fellow Dal owner and traveler, I am very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Inn. We love what we do and want our guests to have a terrific experience at our hotel when visiting Duluth. Please let us know when you will be back if you want to set up a doggie play date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.