We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing on Lake Superior.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing on Lake Superior.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Me and my family go to the Inn each year. We live in the St. Paul area, so we drive about 2 1/4 hours. We always have the 3rd floor, and the hotel is very nice. We like to roast marshmallows--- I like mine lightly toasted, but I tend to burn mine due to getting them too close to the fire--- it happens all the time when I roast marshmallows in my firepit. The hotel has 3 stories with 2 pools and a spa. The indoor pool goes from 3 feet to 5 feet. The indoor spa is 3 1/2 feet. The outdoor rooftop pool goes from 3 feet to 3 1/2 feet. It is located at 350 Canal Park Drive in Duluth. I don't know when it was built, but it seems like your average. I would say it was built in 1995, which would make it 14-15 years old. Nice hotel--- I'd give a 9 1/2 or even a 10. Very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john12360763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Owner at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Thank you taking the time to write and submit your review of the Inn on Lake Superior. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your patronage and your loyalty. The original 101 rooms were built in 1996 and more rooms, the outdoor rooftop pool, and convention center, were added in 2001. Every night in our backyard overlooking Lake Superior, our guests and staff enjoy the camaraderie of roasting marshmallows and making complimentary S’mores – the 'fire-time-distance' combination is a challenge for everyone! Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Inn on Lake Superior is hands down THE BEST hotel I have ever stayed it. If you are planning a trip to Duluth, this is the only hotel worth staying at. They are right on the lake. The view of the lake from the entrance of the hotel will just mesmerize you. The complimentary s'mores every night along with being able to get coffee and tea all day long in the dining area are just some of the unique features of this hotel. They also have complimentary bicycles available for you to ride along the lakeshore and downtown canal park. There is no match for their complimentary breakfast. The waffles are DELICIOUS! We used to look forward to it every morning. The dining area extends to the outside and if the weather is warm enough it is a delight to have your meal in the company of lake superior. The lakeside rooms are probably more expensive and limited but you definitely will have a beautiful view to look forward to everyday just by staying at this hotel. The staff was pretty friendly and helpful as well. There are other hotels next to this one but none of them had the outside backyard seating that this one has. It's such a wonderful feeling to sit outside and take in the beautiful view.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simba_seema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Owner at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Thank you for your review of our hotel regarding your stay at the Inn on Lake Superior. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business.

We are always very happy when a guest comments about the wonderful service they have received and the good times they had at our hotel. As soon as I read your comments, I immediately forwarded them to the management of the hotel so they will ensure that the team know what a great job they have done, and also ensure they are recognized for their efforts.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guestat the Inn on Lake Superior again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We came to the Inn on Lake Superior to celebrate our anniversary. It was a wonderful stay, everything was perfect - from the room to the staff to the free breakfasts to the fantastic view to the porch to the smores. Even the weather was perfect. I never want to stay anywhere else when I go to Duluth.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbWMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayed here on Apr.28 -29/10

When I called to inquire about this hotel the women I spoke to said the room would be $119 US and inquired if I had stayed there before. When I answered it was my first visit to their hotel she said she would see if she could find me a better rate and came up with $109, so I booked up it for my husband, myself and my niece. We were on our way to Duluth to pick up a puppy. (there is a fee of $25 for having a dog at the hotel). Check in was just as I expected , quick and polite. The hotel provided a little dog gift to take home which included (a plastic waterbowl, a few dog cookies, a frizbee, a handkerchief, doggie poop bags/holder) - it was presented as a nice kit. They also provided to use a thick dog blanket. My 22 yr. old niece said "This is like a Magically Motel, l love this place". It was fun to see other people's pups (mostly outside), and the hotel gave u a letter stating their rules of where the dogs were not allowed - e.g breakfast area/pool, etc. Everyone seemed to be very respectful and no dogs could be heard barking at night, no messes from the dogs could be seen outside either.

The beds are very soft and comfy, as are the pillows, and the sheets/comfortors are just as they advertise - soft and luxurious. The rooms are very nicely decorated, flat screen tv's, low step showers with glass sliding doors. Very nice thick towels. They also promote being "Green", and have 2 garbage cans for recycling (which are clearly marked). We had a nice view of the lake where we could see the lighthouse, and in the morning a beautiful pink sky and sunrise. There was a little fridge in the room and a small microwave as well. (In the fridge was water and a few pop, which was a nice touch.) There was a nice clean pool/hot tub as well. Apparently there is also a pool on the roof too - we didn't go look as it was cold the day we were there.

Free breakfast is included with a huge variety to pick from such as: yogourts, fresh fruit, fruit cocktail in a bowl, 5 different cereals, boiled eggs, porridge, make your own waffles which were delicious (various syrups), different breads, bagels, donuts, coffee/tea, cappucino, hot chocolate, vanilla coffee, juices. So needless to say you could have a decent breakfast for sure! Unless you just want bacon/eggs/omelette than u need to pick somewhere else for breaky.

All in all, I was very happy I picked this hotel as was my family. It was very nice, clean, quiet, modern and the service was perfect! Not to mention there are a lot of restaurants within a very short walking distance (across the street) and most of those restaurants are fantastic. No need to drive, works great if u plan to have a drink or 2. We went to Angie's cantena for a nice drink and to our surprise it was "Happy Hour", a big margarita for $6 which was supper cheap considering it usually cost around $13 - holds approx. 3 drinks in the one glass - that was fun! Then for supper we went to Timber's Lodge/Restaurant - close by (again walked) and they really outdid themselves - a huge plate of fabulous food and quick/friendly service. It was hard to choose which place to eat though as many of them are apparently good.

I would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdemill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

This hotel has terrible service. We waited over an hour to get our room (check in was 3 pm, we arrived at 5). We booked a suite (2 bedrooms for 4 people) and there were towels for 3 people and we had to ask for more.

The poolside cart was empty of towels so we called to the front desk for more, they said they had run out!

The indoor pool is so poorly designed - if you come from the south side of the hotel you have to walk through the lobby to get to the pool. Not something that you want to do in a bathing suit.

There is one washroom on the main floor for public use. It is in the pool area. A real pain when there is close to 100 people milling around the breakfast buffet.

Staff don't even bother to ask how your stay was on check out. If they would have asked, I would not have written this review!

Save your money and go to another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdemill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We made reservations a month in advance and specified a room looking over the lake .
When we got there we were in a room over the parking lot above the banquet room that had a wedding and band. All nite we heard the music and the people going out to smoke. We did complain but were told to bad. We have stayed there many times and like the Hotel and location, but we will not stay again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappyinminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

The Inn on Lake Superior is fantastic, we had a king suite which was lakeside. We sat outside on the little balcony and had coffee and felt we were right on the lake it was so close. We could practically touch the joggers on the path around the lake. What a beautiful view. The room was clean, and very updated and the staff took care to be polite and attentive when we dealt with them. The breakfast was plentiful and there was free water and pop in refrigerator. I would definitely stay again, you can't beat the location in Canal Park. If there was one small downside you sometimes had to park in adjacent lot due to hotel being 100% full. But no big deal it was merely a few feet of extra walking.
This in one great hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 06sierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing