We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for the best wedding ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Thank you for the best wedding ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

I love this hotel! My now husband and I stay here multiple times every year and we feel like part of the Inn family. We like the hotel so much that we just had our wedding there this past weekend and they were exceptional. Our group had around 30 rooms and we also used the banquet hall for our reception of 150 people. The staff was very accomodating for such a large group and made sure everyone was happy. All banquet food is contract catered through Savories and we had many people tell us it was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding. We've stayed in pretty much every type of room there. If you're trying to save money get a room facing town or the pool (there's a pool on the roof that's heated in the winter - so perfect). The best room is the fireplace suite, very romantic and relaxing. Since you're in Canal Park there are plenty of places to go out for dinner and you don't even have to drive, just take a short walk. We recommend Belisio's for fancy italian, Grandma's Sports Garden if you're up for dancing at night, Grandma's Saloon if you'd like to kick back and relax with a good burger, Old Chicago or Green Mill. The Inn has a bonfire every night from 8-10 and supply all the s'more makings. The breakfast is HUGE and complimentary. We will definitely continue to stay at this place! Thanks Tressa and Cara!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    131
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
232
174
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Stayed 2 nights, including 1 in a 2BDR suite. Nice, clean place with very fair rates considering the time we were there (New Years). Even though very busy, stayed quiet as security made their rounds and kept people honest even after midnight on New Years. Good breakfast and great location. Nothing bad to say, overall positive. By the way, nice touch are two bottled waters and 2 soft drinks in your fridge each night stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

I recently stayed at The Inn and was less than impressed. I reserved a lake view room and was stuck in a room facing the parking lot. When I called down to the desk to tell them of their mistake I was given an insincere apology, told that they were full for the night, and $10 taken off my rate. Gee, thanks. The hotel seems pretty outdated and run down, could definitely use a face lift. The breakfast was okay, but nothing to write home about. Pool area seemed dirty, along with the towels in our room. This place is not worth the money. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

What a "GREAT" hotel. Stayed here due to a flight cancellation, and so glad the gals at the airport pointed this place out. Absolutely fantastic.Not a complaint to be had. Staff amazing,(hi Katy),rooms amazing, breakfast...what more could you ask for! #1 place to stay in Duluth. Only disappointment I had, forgot to book for my return flight, and there was no vacancies:( I will make sure that doesn't happen again by booking advance). You will NOT be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargo nd
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

I really wanted to like this place.... Nice looking place, large rooms, great pool and breakfast ... But the separation walls between units allow too much noise from the other rooms. I heard BOTH sides of a late-nite argument from the next room over. This detail marred an otherwise outstanding place. I don't think I will stay there again. Sorry.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

For the past 15 years, my family has visited Duluth, ALWAYS staying at the Inn. We fell in love with this hotel for several reasons. (1) You will NOT find a friendlier staff at any hotel. They treat you like one of THEIR family. (2) The Inn has kept up with the times as it has improved the rooms each year with upgrades. From the spacious rooms, to the new TV's, furniture, breakfasts and modern decor all thru the Inn. Enjoy all the flowers and clean green grounds in the summer. (3) Check out the breakfasts. It is much more than an ordinary Deluxe Hot continental breakfast. You have the usual, plus 4 waffle machines, hot eggs, sausage, and bisquits and gravy. We also like the variety of fruits, danish, cereals, juice and coffee, fresh breads and hard boiled eggs. (4) In the evening you can enjoy a cook your own smore, relax in the spacious hot tub, one of the two pools (indoor heated or heated roof pool) plus an adult swim every evening. (5) If you ever what some extras, like an umbrella, bike to ride, board game to play, video to see or a car that needs a brushing off of snow in the winter, you will find the staff ready to accommodate you at the Inn. (6) If you ask for a lake side room, you can sit on your own balcony and watch the sailboats, ocean and ore boats got in and out of the Duluth harbor. Watch the people pass by on the boardwalk. What more can I say. You get what you pay for. Try the Inn, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Everything is so well planned, from the nice variety of breakfast to the smores by the campfire in the evenings. If I had to just live in the hotel for a week and not go anywhere, it would be great fun! The outdoor heated pool in the snow Saturday looked great. The cappuccino and hot chocolate machine 24 hours a day is very thoughtful. The massive whirlpool in the room made it hard to ever leave. The big swimming pool made it easy to swim laps. I took a walk every morning on the canal boardwalk. I would enjoy staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.